Lost Pup.

August 28, 2007

One of our pups, Choco, ran off on Saturday evening when we weren’t home.

She was the mother of the 5 batches of puppies that were born while I was still in college. She’s a really playful dog, & she loves people. There was a function at the high school across the street from us on Saturday, so we’re guessing that she ran after some people & got lost.

She’s not a bright dog. Once lost, she probably couldn’t find her way back home. (Tip: If you ever get a dog, do get a smart one).

For the past few nights, hearing our other dog (the father of the batches of puppies) giving occasional, mournful howls has really been sad. Choco was also my dad & brother’s favorite dog.

It’s been sad, but I’ve been wondering about some things, too. I’ve spent over 7 hours in the past few days trying to find her – making phone calls, visiting local animal shelters, posting up fliers . . . All of this has made me wonder, “Is this too trivial?” I’ve prayed, too, but with much hesitation, wondering, “Is this too trivial?”

People are dying, & people are lost (physically & spiritually) . . . in light of these things, what is a lost pet? But what it really came down to was: is there anything too trivial for God?

He says that not even a sparrow will “fall to the ground apart from [Him]” (Matthew 10:29). He says that “even the hairs of your head are all numbered” (Matthew 10:30). Aren’t these trivial? Who among us would keep track of sparrows falling or keep track of the numbers of hair on one another’s heads? But God does.

I still can’t fathom how this great, holy, majestic God would call me to continually bring all things to Him in prayer, even what I consider to be shamefully trivial. Really, I’m a little embarrassed – haha :]

He says we should be “casting all [our] anxieties on Him, because He cares for [us]” (I Peter 5:7). & I think, But I Peter was written to the persecuted church, suffering for Christ! I feel ashamed to even apply this to such a small matter – a matter that is almost laughable, because it’s just so silly. A pet?

” . . . The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer & supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God” (Philippians 4:5-6). In everything, He says. Really, Lord? EVERYthing?

That’s what He says.
He doesn’t tell me to hush up when I tell Him what is troubling me because “someone else has it harder”. Have I suffered loss over something more than a pet? Of course. But . . . it still troubles me, even if it is a smaller trouble than others I’ve faced. This, too, He says to bring to Him in prayer. He cares.

He says to “pray without ceasing” (I Thessalonians 5:17). If I only prayed about the things that didn’t seem trivial, I wouldn’t be praying about very many things. Isn’t the majority of life made up of “trivialities”? But they’re not trivial to Him. Would I ever call the president of the U.S. to report my lost pup? No way. Then how much less would I consider calling on the Creator of the Universe?? But He says to.

Unfathomable.

If a lost pup is as grieving to me as a lost soul or lost loved one, I may have priority issues; but if a lost pup is causing me sorrow in proper measure, then what? Pray. In this situation, as in all things, pray . . . because it’s not so much about the request as it is about remembering His nearness & being in His presence. The Lord is at hand.

Nothing is too great for Him. Nothing is too small for Him. His eye is on the sparrow; He takes note of its falls. How much more, then, on us?

2 Responses to “Lost Pup.”

  1. jennifer l. Says:

    deyarp i


Leave a Reply

