“I found her.”

August 29, 2007

“Oppah*, I have to go to class in about 45 minutes, & I didn’t have time to visit [the last animal shelter on the list] yet. Can you stop by there today?” (*Korean for “big brother”)

“I actually need to replace the battery on my car, but if I can’t make it there before it closes today, I can go tomorrow.”

“Okay.”

He’d just returned the night before from a week-long business trip, & it’d now been about 3 days since she was lost. Statistics say that after the first 24 hours, the odds of finding your dog drastically decrease, & less than 16% of all lost dogs are returned to their rightful owners. So, I was beginning to lose steam. I thought she might just be roadkill by now.

When I turned my phone on again after class, I had 4 missed calls, a voice message, & a text message. What’s going on?

I clicked to the text message first, from my brother: “I found her.”

I seriously whooped for joy. I didn’t care who heard me as I was walking through the campus to my car; I was so happy. I called a friend & left some half-hollering, barely intelligible message about finding Choco (haha). I called my brother & asked for details. He said she was at the shelter, the last one on our list.

My brother laughingly said to his roommate, “Yea, my sister was the one who spent hours putting up fliers & everything, & the one place that I go & visit, I find the dog. I’m the hero!”

We had a good, long laugh about that. But what does it matter who “officially” found her? She’s found! & I think that because I began to assume that she was dead, finding her was all the more whoop-worthy.

These past three days, the parable below has often come to mind:

“What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, & go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? & when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. & when he comes home, he calls together his friends & his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance*.” (Luke 15:4-7; *note the context: that is, self-righteous persons who think they need no repentance).

Even though it’s not the main point of the parable, I never quite understood how a man could rejoice over finding one lost sheep if he still had 99, unless he was a little “type A” & liked having an even number of things (e.g., 100 rather than 99). But now, I think I understand the connection in the parable a tad better :]

It’s amazing grace all over again. We (believers), in the rebellion of our hearts, wandered far . . . but God sought, God found, & God rejoiced. & He’s still seeking, finding, & rejoicing over sinners. Today is still the day of salvation. Amazing grace. Amazing God.

“For the Son of Man [Jesus] came to seek & to save the lost.” (Luke 19:10)

& thank You for helping us find Choco :]

Choco

6 Responses to ““I found her.””

  1. cathie Says:

    awwwww tia — so cute! :]]

  2. stevenhong Says:

    haha. that’s precious.

    I like the new bench picture btw. It was cut off on my browser before.

  3. stephanie Says:

    =) i made one too tia. the steph_0f_faith one got a too public so i stopped writing in it. email me for mine =))

  4. Cam Says:

    🙂 Glad you found her. Maybe time to invest in a collar or microchip tag.

  5. Jonathan Pak Says:

    Booo don’t leave xanga.

  6. WhoreChurch Says:

    Excellent writing. Excellent tie in to a religious truth. Great blog.


Leave a Reply

