Teacher by Day, Student by Night.

August 30, 2007

It’s been nice having fairly free mornings for the past couple of days. My time, however, is limited. Starting next week, I’ll be under a part-time contract at a high school, teaching 3 senior World Literature classes & 1 freshman English class as I finish up my last semester in the credential program.

Yes, I realize my students will be bigger than me, but that’s okay. I’ll just make sure that they’re always sitting down . . . & that I’m always standing up . . . on a chair :]

Post-college life has been sweet (well, I suppose walking through any season of life is sweet when your constant guide & companion is the Lord). It hasn’t been without its struggles (in fact, far from it), but I’m finding myself in newer contexts where He convicts me of sins I’ve been cherishing in my heart, corrects my unbiblical thinking, & teaches me how to apply the things I’ve been taught in Him.

& I’m still learning. He’s a kind, patient, effectual Teacher.

So, I’m excited about teaching (ask me if I’m excited in another couple months when I’m bleary-eyed & tired of grading 130+ essays a week :] ). I’ll be rubbing shoulders with ~130 students on a daily basis; I’ll have ~130 more reasons to go to Him in prayer.

It will be challenging. The high school is in a pretty rough neighborhood. I know they’ll challenge my authority as a teacher. But regardless of what they do, I’m still called by God to “put to death . . . anger, wrath, malice, slander, & obscene talk from [my] mouth,” because I’ve “put off the old self with its practices & have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its Creator” (Colossians 3:5-10). Regardless of what they do, I’m still called to “put on . . . compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, & patience . . . forgiving . . . & above all these [putting] on love” (Colossians 3:12-14).

I may be a teacher by day & a student by night, but I’m never to separate my identity in Christ from my more superficial identities (e.g., that of a teacher). My foremost occupation isn’t as a teacher; my foremost occupation is that of a bondservant for Christ. I pray I don’t forget that in the daily grind.

I want to be like & reflect my Teacher in every way, for His glory.
Please pray for us.

P.S. & please tell my students I prefer mangos, peaches, or watermelon over apples :]

3 Responses to “Teacher by Day, Student by Night.”

  1. cindy tsau Says:

    tia
    you make my smile.

  2. cindy tsau Says:

    me*
    hahaha ;D

  3. tia Says:

    hahaha

    i miss you tsausar ❤


Leave a Reply

