True Understanding.

September 2, 2007

Sometimes, I’ll just blindly flip through the pages of my Bible & almost desperately think, “What do I know? After all this time, what do I really know & understand?” My questions still much, much outweigh what I think I know. My application of His Word is even less impressing. I feel like a baby trying to study & know the globe by crawling all over it (with that level of understanding, at that speed).

The psalmist says true understanding is directly related to knowing & keeping His Word:

“Give me understanding, that I may keep Your law & observe it with my whole heart.” (Psalm 119:34)

Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is ever with me. I have more understanding than all my teachers, for Your testimonies are my meditation. I understand more than the aged, for I keep Your precepts.” (Psalm 119:98-100)

“Through Your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.” (Psalm 119:104)

The unfolding of Your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple.” (Psalm 119:130)

“Let my cry come before You, O LORD; give me understanding according to Your word!” (Psalm 119:169)

It is not based on experience alone, emotion alone, or education alone; it is founded on the Rock of Scripture & given by His Spirit who alone “comprehends the thoughts of God” (1 Corinthians 2:11).

God give us (me) understanding.

One Response to “True Understanding.”


Leave a Reply

