First week of teaching.

September 6, 2007

Is it already Thursday?

I haven’t been sleeping very much (already), but I think it has more to do with my biorhythm. I can’t remember the last time I had to wake up before 6 AM on a daily basis. Yay for schools that start first period at 7:20 AM . . .

For the next month or so, I’ll be (thankfully) sharing the teaching load with the original teacher. But she’s due very soon; I don’t think she’ll last beyond a month. She’s one of the best English teachers in the area, & I’m learning so much from her.

After expressing some concern about my “load” this year, Ruth (mother of 5) recommended two things to me: raw apple cider vinegar & grapefruit seed extract.

She suggested taking two spoonfuls of the vinegar each day & using the grapefruit seed extract when necessary. The vinegar cleanses your system, & it boosts your energy & immune system (it has to be raw though . . . something to do with the bacteria in it . . . yum). The grapefruit seed extract works like an antiseptic or an antibiotic (mix it with water). & really, the vinegar doesn’t taste that bad at all. It’s kind of like Tabasco sauce, with a touch of sweetness, without the fire. Ew, I think my description just made it sound worse.

I’m really enjoying high school though. It’s a lot of fun teaching the “bookend” years of high school; the freshmen still smack of junior high & the 1-week-is-a-long-time-to-date-you mentality, & the seniors are college/career-bound. The students are also extremely diverse. I feel like I have a United Nations meeting in my classroom every day.

I keep a separate teacher journal (for lesson plan reflections, notes about various students, etc.), & I covered the first page with various verses & passages from Scripture to continually renew my mind with:

“If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, & it will be given him. But let him ask in faith . . .” (James 1:5-6)

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works & give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16)

“But He would withdraw to desolate places & pray.” (Luke 5:16)

“If you love those who love you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them. & if you do good to those who do good to you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners do the same . . . but love your enemies, & do good, & lend, expecting nothing in return, & your reward will be great, & you will be called sons of the Most High, for He is kind to the ungrateful & the evil. Be merciful, even as your Father is merciful.” (Luke 6:32-34, 35-36)

“But the Lord answered her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are anxious & troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.'” (Luke 10:41-42)

“But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course & the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.” (Acts 20:24)

“. . . We endure anything rather than put an obstacle in the way of the gospel of Christ.” (I Corinthians 9:12)

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, & self-control . . .” (Galatians 5:22)

“Finally, be strong in the Lord & in the strength of His might.” (Ephesians 6:10)

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand: do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer & supplication let your requests be made known to God. & the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts & your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:4-7)

“But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy & good fruits, impartial & sincere. & a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.” (James 3:17-18 )

Okay, time for class . . . this time as student, not teacher.

4 Responses to “First week of teaching.”

  1. stephanie Says:

    tia tia bo bia… =) are you plannin on comin to sd soon? i decided to come to sj & sf next friday. i should try the vinegar thing.

  2. cathie Says:

    “the freshmen still smack of junior high & the 1-week-is-a-long-time-to-date-you mentality”

    hahah i forgot what it’s like to be a freshman….in high school! gosh, time flies.

  3. e Says:

    look out for those two girls in the back who just mess around during The Princess Bride….oh wait, that was my class….

  4. tia Says:

    look out for those two girls in the back who just mess around during The Princess Bride….oh wait, that was my class….

    hahaha yea, I’ll practice my sneeze, too: AAAACHOOOOOOO!


Leave a Reply

