Amazing Grace for Grandpa.

September 11, 2007

They played this song over the school intercom today during the morning announcements: “Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me . . .” & then they cut it off.
But ah, it was beautiful.

Today is my grandpa’s 79th birthday (my dad’s dad). I’ve written about him many times before, but I guess I just can’t help but marvel at God’s grace-full dealings with him.

The first 78 years of his life were years of much grief. During his younger years, he lived through war after war. When the Korean War ended, some of his family was on the other side of the 38th parallel (in North Korea). He never saw them again. Later in the early ’70s, for various reasons*, he moved with his wife & 3 children to the U.S. with only a few hundred dollars. His wife was shortly after diagnosed with breast cancer. She died in 1982. Between 1983 & 2003, he was painfully devastated several times more.

In May of ’03, his life nearly ended at his own hands. But man is not sovereign. God is. & God (in His grace) had better plans. The doctors called it a miracle.

In ’03, he didn’t know God. In ’07, he does.

God spared his life physically to give him new life, eternal life. This past year, my grandpa (for the first time) spoke of his joy in Christ. My grandma was buried with her Bible opened to Psalm 23; this psalm is now Grandpa’s comfort, too. God answered the prayers of many, particularly those of my grandma . . . all together, 50 years of prayers.

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
& Grace my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils, & snares
I have already come;
‘Tis Grace that brought me safe thus far
& Grace will lead me home.

Happy birthday, Grandpa ♥ & thank You, God of amazing grace.

013.jpg

*I just asked my dad, “Why did you guys move to the U.S. again?” His answer: “Religious persecution. We were Korean Puritans. Why?” . . . . . oy, why do I even ask?

3 Responses to “Amazing Grace for Grandpa.”

  1. cathie Says:

    that’s amazing… fifty years.
    that’s perseverance in love…

  2. kau1548 Says:

    thanks for the WordPress welcome.

    oh, and thanks for the post. It gives me a lot of hope…=)

  3. pastorpatrick Says:

    Hey Tia! Great post! Too often we try to justify sin by thinking that it’s not all that bad. ~P


Leave a Reply

