Better than Antivirus.

September 15, 2007

I’ve been out from 6:40am to 10:15pm today. It’s almost midnight, & I can feel my brain shutting down by the second, so I better type this quickly :]

I’m downloading an antivirus software for my computer (found through a site my dad showed me: The 46 Best-ever Freeware). Not only is it nice knowing that my computer is protected, but I also enjoy reading those messages that tell me how many unwanted bugs, viruses, & spyware have either been removed from the system or prevented from entering the system.

But I wonder how many of us protect our minds & hearts from the plethora of things we see, read, & hear daily in the media, from other people, from countless other sources. I wonder how many of us sift through these things that influence our thoughts, our worldview, our affections, our perspective, our very life.

We all know what a virus/bug/spyware-filled computer will do. It’ll gradually become slower, malfunction, & one day show that blue screen of death (it’s not even a pretty shade of blue).

What then of the ones who fail to protect their minds & hearts through Christ, through His Word?

His Word guards us from lies & false teachings. His Word corrects our faulty thinking . . . & faulty living.

“The brothers immediately sent Paul and Silas away by night to Berea, and when they arrived they went into the Jewish synagogue. Now these Jews were more noble than those in Thessalonica; they received the word with all eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see if these things were so. Many of them therefore believed . . .” (Acts 17:10-12)

They examined even the teachings of godly men against Scripture.

If we fail to examine & scrutinize closely the thoughts, beliefs, & ideas that are daily presented to us, in time we will be conformed rather than transformed.

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” (Romans 12:2)

Leave a Reply

