Ever, only, all for Thee.

September 22, 2007

I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed lately with the never-ending list of things to do. & with each task that’s finally finished, there’s always 7 more waiting to be tackled.

I always boasted that “I would rather wear out than rust out”, but is wearing out any more pleasing to God than rusting out if I am allowing the wearing out process cultivate a hurried, vexed, anxious spirit within me?

Racing time, living from deadline to deadline . . . I’ve been more than just myopic. What is my life? It’s but a vapor, a vapor that appears for a little while & then vanishes. What am I doing with the vanishing mist of my life?

It is possible to waste my life not only in doing nothing but also in doing many things with the wrong heart. What does it matter how much fruit the tree produces if it’s all wormy fruit anyway? It is no better than the tree that bears no fruit at all.

Oh, for a heart & life pleasing to Him.

*

Take my life, and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
Take my moments and my days; let them flow in ceaseless praise.
Take my hands, and let them move at the impulse of Thy love.
Take my feet, and let them be swift and beautiful for Thee.

Take my voice, and let me sing always, only, for my King.
Take my lips, and let them be filled with messages from Thee.
Take my silver and my gold; not a mite would I withhold.
Take my intellect, and use every power as Thou shalt choose.

Take my will, and make it Thine; it shall be no longer mine.
Take my heart, it is Thine own; it shall be Thy royal throne.
Take my love, my Lord, I pour at Thy feet its treasure store.
Take myself, and I will be ever, only, all for Thee.

(Frances R. Havergal, February 1874.)

4 Responses to “Ever, only, all for Thee.”

  1. Derek Wong Says:

    I really really enjoy that hymn. 🙂

    Sometimes I get that feeling. I think that it has a tendency to afflict anyone with life seemingly going faster than we can keep up (whether because of circumstances or because we make it so). It’s unfortunate, but at least I can realize as much when I stop to think about it.

  2. julie Says:

    Wow, great post! I’ve been feeling the same way. This week I’ve taken a break from several things to have God, prayer and Bible time. It’s been so refreshing. But next week the busyness will be back and I’ll be wondering, as you said, “What does it matter how much fruit the tree produces if it’s all wormy fruit anyway?” So true! The hymn you chose is one of my favorites. It fits perfectly!

  3. DP Says:

    Hi
    Stumbled across the blog looking for “All for Thee” – and just wanted to say I found your site a blessing. I’ll be back …..
    Numbers 6:24-26!
    David

  4. tia Says:

    Hi David,

    Glad you made it here and encouraged that you found this site a blessing! :] That makes it more than worthwhile.

    Thanks for the benediction (from Numbers). Let’s press on and really live “ever, only, all” for Him!


Leave a Reply

