The Kite Runner.

October 2, 2007

Three posts are in the process of being written (still looking into & mulling over them), but until they’re finished . . .

I’m trying to finish The Kite Runner, which my school’s English Department is recommending as an extra credit assignment for the seniors; the author graduated from our school. It’s a novel based on the author’s actual experiences growing up in Afghanistan. I’ve only read a third of the book so far, but it’s one of those gripping books that are hard to put down. It’s heartbreakingly detailed in describing some of the horrors of war (which is also why I don’t think this is a book I would necessarily give as a gift to everyone I know . . .), but this book has definitely acted as a catalyst in making me research more the history & current events of Afghanistan.

Until September 11, 2001, all I knew about Afghanistan was its location (& only because I always chose it as my “home base” in the game, Risk). & even since 2001, my knowledge of that war-torn country has been rather meager.

Reading this book has reminded me not to forget to pray for those who live through circumstances & in places we cannot even imagine . . .

To the ends of the earth. He really meant it.

Leave a Reply

