Straining forward.

October 17, 2007

Now that I’m used to it, I love waking up before the sun. Everything (in the house, on the street outside) is still hushed & sleeping.

& sometime during my drive to school, the sun rises (or is on the verge of doing so). I keep the radio & everything else off until the sun & the rest of the city rises, too. I think it’s my favorite time of day.

This morning, during this drive, I thought about how much time I spent looking backward this past year. I’ve been living off the dimming coals of past victories He’s given & past lessons He’s taught.

Meanwhile, moment after moment has continued to slip by, unredeemed.

Praise God for the things He’s done. But He’s not done yet.
Life’s not finished yet.
The chapter has ended, but the whole story has not.
The pattern of my life is still being pressed out day by day.

Philippians 3:10-14:
“That I may know Him & the power of His resurrection, & may share His sufferings, becoming like Him in His death, that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead. Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me His own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind & straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

May the continued pattern of our lives bring Him glory – not just certain seasons in our lives, but the entirety of our lives.

Press on. Strain forward.

2 Responses to “Straining forward.”

  1. blueraindrop Says:

    i like being up before the sun when its by choice.

    i hate being up before the sun when its by obligation!

  2. jewwishes Says:

    Many dear friends and Jewish Synagogue members have been evacuated, also.


Leave a Reply

