A soccer game.

December 14, 2007

A month ago, I found out that one of my freshmen plays soccer for the school team.  In passing, I told him to let me know when the games were so I could go watch one.  I meant it when I told him, but I forgot I said it.

A couple Mondays ago, he ran up to my desk before class & showed me a medal he won at a weekend tournament.  The boys’ soccer team won 2nd place.  I had him show the class, & everyone clapped for him.  He smiled like he was 6 years old again.

Today after class, he asked if I was going to the soccer game today.  “You have a soccer game today?”  “Yea.”  “Where?”  “Here at school.”  “Good!  I’ll be there!  What time?”  “3:15.”

This is the student that I hear asking classmates for food nearly every day.  He’ll often come up to me before class when he’s especially hungry & say, “I didn’t eat anything today.”  Then he’ll hungrily eat whatever I give him.

I don’t know if he’s ever had anyone come to watch him play soccer before.

. . .

I forget to pray for my students.  I think I pray more for myself (strength, wisdom, kindness, etc.) than I do for them specifically.  But God is good.  He uses students like this to remind me.

One Response to “A soccer game.”

  1. jennifer lee Says:

    my heart hurts…


Leave a Reply

