The people who sing.

January 21, 2008

When I’m hurting the most, I’ll usually look for a quiet place where I can take a keyboard or guitar & a praise book. Then I’ll spend hours singing & playing through the songs. It does my heart good to sing His praises — to sing of who He is — especially when I hurt.

“A group of Christians in Africa are not called Christians by those around them. Instead they are called the people who sing. When someone wants to join their church, they say, ‘I want to sing.’ In the midst of very difficult lives full of pain and suffering, poverty and hardship, they sing. They sing from hearts full of joy in Christ. We should tune our hearts to hear such singing. We should marvel at the beauty of their song.”
– Stephen J. Nichols, Heaven on Earth: Capturing Jonathan Edwards’s Vision of Living in Between (Thanks, Cesar, for the excerpt.)

May we be people who sing through times of joy & through times of grief, because our God is always praiseworthy. Our hearts always have reason to sing — maybe not because of circumstances but because of our sovereign God.

The thankful Christian sings. The joyful Christian sings. &, as we were reminded in November, trials enhance joy.

Let’s sing. & let’s sing all the more when the day becomes night.

“By day the LORD commands His steadfast love, & at night His song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.” ( Psalm 42:8 )

“It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to Your name, O Most High; to declare Your steadfast love in the morning, & Your faithfulness by night, to the music of the lute & the harp, to the melody of the lyre.” (Psalm 92:1-3)

“& when they had inflicted many blows upon them, they threw them into prison, ordering the jailer to keep them safely. Having received this order, he put them into the inner prison & fastened their feet in the stocks. About midnight Paul & Silas were praying & singing hymns to God, & the prisoners were listening to them.” (Acts 16:23-25)

4 Responses to “The people who sing.”

  1. stephanie Says:

    lurv you tia bo bia.

  2. tia Says:

    lurv you steph bo beph.

  3. Dennis A Says:

    AMEN TIA! One song that has come to mean so much to me in the past week (reference your post on Robert) is Bring the Rain by Mercy Me:

    I can count a million times
    People asking me how I
    Can praise You with all that I’ve gone through
    The question just amazes me
    Can circumstances possibly
    Change who I forever am in You
    Maybe since my life was changed
    Long before these rainy days
    It’s never really ever crossed my mind
    To turn my back on you oh Lord
    My only shelter from the storms
    But instead I draw closer through these times
    So I pray

    Bring me joy, bring me peace
    Bring the chance to be free
    Bring me anything that brings You glory
    And I know There’ll be days
    When this life brings me pain
    But if that’s what it takes to praise You
    Jesus Bring the Rain

    I am Yours regardless of
    The dark clouds that may loom above
    Because You are much greater than my pain
    You who made a way for me
    By suffering Your destiny
    So tell me what’s a little rain

    Holy, Holy, Holy / Is the Lord God Almighty

    BTW…guitar? Hmmm…

    Also, thank you for blessing us on Sunday!

    In Christ’s Strong Name!

    D

  4. tia Says:

    Dennis: Ah, I like that song. & about the guitar . . . really, nothing impressive. Only a handful of chords.


Leave a Reply

