Shoes Woes.

January 24, 2008

(Just a glimpse of home.)

A couple days ago, my brother decided he wanted to buy me some shoes.

So, last night, he took me to DSW.  I’m not sure what DSW stands for, but it must be the initials for “Way Too Many Shoes” in a foreign language . . . because that’s the first thought that came to mind when I walked in there yesterday.

I walked around, going through aisle after aisle of shoe after shoe.  I was done “shopping” (& empty-handed) after about 15 minutes.

My brother found me a little later.  I told him I couldn’t find anything, but he wouldn’t hear any of it.

He had me sit down.  “Sit down & wait here.  I’m picking your shoes.”

“What?  No . . .”

So, as I sat down (on one of those blocks with the angled mirrors on the sides), he tossed shoes to me.  I can’t even remember how many shoes I tried on.  He had two criteria: something casual & something “different” (i.e., something I probably wouldn’t buy on my own).

I’d have different shoes on each of my feet, & he’d tell me to walk around with my eyes closed to see which were more comfortable.  We made quite a scene — me, bumping into things & my brother, asking passersby which shoe looked better.

He finally decided on a pair.  They were comfortable, too.

“Great!”  I put the shoes in the box & started walking towards the cashier.

“We’re not done yet.  You need another pair.”

I thought he was kidding.  He wasn’t.  I had more shoes to try on.

But in the end, 2 hours & an unexpected 30% discount later, we went home with just one pair — these:

6219-434990-d.jpg

I was wiped out when I got home.  My mom just laughed, & my dad said, “They’re cute.  Not your style, but maybe that’s a good thing.”

. . .

God has been good to us (my dad, my mom, my brother, & me), even in spite of us.  I am thankful.

8 Responses to “Shoes Woes.”

  1. Derek Wong Says:

    Haha you’re loving the Discount Shoe Warehouse, huh Leticia Han?

    That was a very (how do you say it?) cute entry. 😛

  2. jennifer lee Says:

    hehehehehehhehehehe

    i really like those shoes! they’re cute.
    i agree with your dad. not your style, and yea… i think that’s a good thing. hahahaha 😉
    <3!!!

  3. e Says:

    wear those to school and your students will think you’re ultra hip!

  4. moonchoi Says:

    Hahaha. I can see you sporting those shoes. 😀 They’re super cute. Pumas are bomb. Haha.

    & the next time we’ll see each other… I don’t know. 😦 Things are kind of uncertain right now.

  5. Courtney Says:

    I know EXACTLY what you mean about DSW. So much stuff its overwhelming. I feel a sinking feeling in my stomach whenever Naomi wants to go there. 🙂

  6. tia Says:

    wow — these comments were a mixture of elucidation, meanness, counsel, benevolence, & empathy (in that order . . . Jenn).

    😀

  7. Billy Says:

    no no, don’t wear those to school. you need to look DIFFERENT from your students so there is no confusion.


  8. Hi Tia,
    I am enjoying reading your blog and getting to know more about you. Thanks for stopping by mine as well. I read one of your earlier posts where you describe your personality and I definately relate quite a bit to you. I prefer one on one conversation and avoid crowds, I dress simple and don’t even carry a purse. I can’t remember what else we had in common but thought I would share that with you. I look forward to reading future posts. BTW I can’t make the memorial at your church for Robert since I live in Placerville it is too far away of a drive and I have two small children. Thank you for the invitation though. BTW what High School do you teach at?
    Angela


Leave a Reply

