He knows.

February 9, 2008

He knows.

He knows.

I can’t begin to tell how much comfort this truth has brought recently.

He knows what these trials are producing in us, He knows what the outcome will be of present uncertainties, He knows the pain of loss, He knows our innermost thoughts, He knows what is in our hearts, He knows exactly what to say to comfort us in each circumstance, He knows how to humble us, He knows our needs, He knows what He is doing, & He knows we are but dust (even when our proud hearts boast otherwise).

The past few weeks, circumstantially, have been relentless; & the flames have been more painful because they’ve revealed more dross in my heart than I ever suspected was there. I’m not half as strong, half as principled, half as loving, half as interested in Christ’s interests as I wanted to believe that I was.

It would be one thing to face life’s gales (or to come alongside a loved one who is enduring them) with a humble, sweet spirit.  But it’s been agonizing to do those same things while at the same time struggling with the obstinate sins & hardness of heart that the gales have uncovered within.  Trials without, but no sweetness of spirit within.

But He knew that, too.  How vast, really, is His love?  According to “my” calculations, love should have dried up a long time ago.  How is it, then, that I still find myself so inundated with love that I’m unable to feel the bottom?  Who is He that He would love like this?

Losses, the feeling of death’s finality, questions of whether a loved one will make it through an illness, the workload that gives no heed to cries of weariness, the constant battle with sin & pride . . .

He knows.  He — God Almighty, the God who says He is Love, the One who is unfolding life moment by moment according to His perfect plan & good pleasure, our Savior from first to last.

I don’t know. I don’t know what will happen. I don’t know how to comfort the grieving. I don’t know how to minister to those I love. I don’t know what is in my heart. I don’t know how to wholly give this life to Him. I don’t know.

But He knows. His person, His knowledge of all things, & His constant love; I can lean with my full weight on these things.

I need not look elsewhere. He will never fail.

3 Responses to “He knows.”


  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. courtney Says:

    Thanks for sharing this Tia. REALLY good thoughts to wrestle with here.

  3. tia Says:

    :]

    “wrestle” is the right word, court . . .


Leave a Reply

