Mantiox chawe.

February 28, 2008

That’s Achí (of Guatemala) for “thank you” :]

Here’s what I hope is the first of many such posts — posts giving thanks to God.

Reflecting on the past week, I’m thankful for . . .

1. Lessons from Bare Trees

The last time I took a walk in my neighborhood, the trees were just beginning to give up their leaves. Yesterday, I started to feel really restless. I thought it was because I’d spent the whole day studying & needed some fresh air. So, right before sunset (the best time of day to walk, by the way), I headed for the neighborhood park.

Above, the sky was making its colorful transition to dusk, & the bare trees were darkly silhouetted against the sky. The trees were completely bare except for an occasional nub here & there. Fingertips of spring. Pregnant with life.

I began to wonder if the trees ever grew restless between winter & spring. Waiting, waiting. Waiting for the nubs to turn to buds. Waiting for the buds to blossom. Waiting for the blossoms to give way to fruit.

The trees didn’t surrender their dying leaves in the autumn in vain. There was the faithful promise of spring. But I wondered, Why all the months of bareness in between? Why not give the promise immediately after the surrender occurs? Is the waiting necessary? Are the months of seeming dormancy necessary?

I don’t know. Months of no sign of fulfilled promise — not even a nub until the very cusp of the new season.

But those months are not wasted. The Creator knows what He is doing within the tree, in preparation for spring, through all those winter months.

How much more, then, in me? How much more, then, in one He loved from before the foundation of the world?

2. Boyce Bang

“Boyce” is my roommate from college. Her real name is Joyce, but all the roommates called her “Boyce” (I think Kelly started it).

When I first met her, she was just beginning to walk with the Lord. Watching her transform over the past handful of years has been encouraging beyond words. I can’t help but rejoice (& be so challenged) when I see her quiet fortitude & trust, even in spite of persistent thorns.

What a faith He is forging. ♥

3. Waveboarding

A couple months ago, I was given a waveboard as a gift. It’s become quite the ministry tool with a couple of my younger cousins.

It’s cost me a couple of scrapes & a bump on the knee, but it’s been a fun means of spending time with them.

I rode it to get to the bank today, & as I was crossing the street, I thought I saw my old pediatrician on the road (I used to be scared of him). When I looked to see if it was him, I hit a crack, fell, & put a hole in my pants.

Good one.

girl_power.png

3 Responses to “Mantiox chawe.”

  1. jennifer lee Says:

    hahaha
    i loved this post.

    #1 – <3.

    #2 – “her quiet fortitude & trust, even in spite of persistent thorns.” something to be imitated. i am so not quiet.

    #3 – hahahaha. good one.

  2. tia Says:

    you like any post where you can laugh AT me 😦 😉


  3. […] 14, 2008 in life Remember the bare trees I wrote about just a couple weeks […]


Leave a Reply

