Lessons in love.

March 18, 2008

Her Father: Did you see them again today?

Her: Yes, Father, You know I did.

Her Father: And you enjoyed yourself?

Her: Yes. Thank You for these loving relationships.

Her Father: Oh, do you love them?

Her: Of course I do! You know that I always pray for them & that I can never think of them without a sense of thankfulness & warm affection!

Her Father: Do you love them more than your own self?

Her: I could lay down my life for them.

Her Father: Could you lay down lesser things than your life for them?

Her: What do you mean?

Her Father: Could you lay down your reputation for them? Could you lay down their good opinion of you for them? Could you even put your relationship with them on the line — for them?

Her: What would require that of me?

Her Father: You never speak to them about matters of eternal life & death — their souls, their salvation, their drifting from the gospel. You are selfishly silent in these matters. Have you so quickly forgotten, in the midst of much levity, the reality of a Christless eternity in hell for those who do not know Me? Have you no sense of alarm for their sakes?

Her: But I don’t want to forfeit my relationship with them either!

Her Father: So, you would instead forfeit their souls for the preservation of your relationship with them?

Her: But I can’t help it! They don’t want to speak of it, & my heart is too faint to bring it up . . .

Her Father: Child, I remember what you are made of; I know your heart is faint. But I’m not requiring you to do it without Me.

Her: I know it, but I tremble to think of the pain their rejection will cause me!

Her Father: Could you bear one life of rejection without them in hope of an eternity of joy with them? Take heart, dear child. Remember I am sovereign, & do the part I require of you faithfully. I will be your Help.

Her: I’m afraid. Open my heart & my mouth. I cannot.

Her Father: I will never leave you. My Word will equip you, & My love will compel you. But quickly, child — the sun has already begun to set.

. . .

And when they [the elders of the Ephesian church] came to him [Paul], he said to them:

“You yourselves know how I lived among you the whole time from the first day that I set foot in Asia, serving the Lord with all humility & with tears & with trials that happened to me . . . how I did not shrink from declaring to you anything that was profitable, and teaching you in public & from house to house, testifying both to Jews & to Greeks of repentance toward God & of faith in our Lord Jesus Christ . . .

But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course & my ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God. And now, behold, I know that none of you among whom I have gone about proclaiming the kingdom will see my face again. Therefore I testify to you this day that I am innocent of the blood of all of you, for I did not shrink from declaring to you the whole counsel of God . . .

Therefore be alert, remembering that for three years I did not cease night or day to admonish everyone with tears.

(Acts 20: 18-21, 24-27, 31)

3 Responses to “Lessons in love.”

  1. steph Says:

    good huge sigh*.
    i love you tia!

  2. tia Says:

    that’s exactly how i felt after leaving panera today :]]]

    i love YOU!

  3. steve Says:

    Hi,
    I like the way you write ..Its really different and interesting … keep the momentum going ..I hope tis will really going to help me in

    future..


Leave a Reply

