Foooooorgiveness.

April 19, 2008

[Reflections from Philemon :]

Forgiveness is . . .

1. A command, an issue of obedience.
2. A glorious reflection of the gospel.
3. The working of Christ in me, evidence of Christlike character.
4. To be given freely, gladly, in an above & beyond manner (not just out of compulsion).
5. An act of love, agape love.

Forgiveness requires . . .

1. LOVE. The love of God experienced by me, experienced & extended through me.
2. GRACE. The grace of God experienced by me, experienced & extended through me.
3. HUMILITY. Reflecting on who I was & who I am before God Most High. Considering others better than myself. Dying to self (that I might joyfully live to God).
4. TRUTH. Remembering all have sinned, including me. Not expecting from sinful man what I ought to expect from God alone, knowing that man will disappoint, fail, & sometimes hurt me (just as I’ll do the same to him/her).

Oy. Now to apply . . . . .

[In Philemon,] Paul is asking what is not possible in the flesh because flesh wants vengeance. What is not possibly by the law because the law wants justice. But what is possibly by grace, the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, working with your spirit, your inner man. (John MacArthur)

Leave a Reply

