Tángeyoo (Part 2).

April 30, 2008

(In continuation)

Thank You for . . .

2. Not Giving Me All My Heart Desires

Sometimes, my desires become idols in my life. Most of them are “good” desires, but my grasping, clutching, & discontentment reveal what place they really have in my heart — first place, rather than Christ being in first place with all these things in subordination to Him.

But while they have such a hold on my heart, I’m thankful He never gives them at the cost of “leanness” in my soul. I’m thankful that He does not give me the gifts as long as they are given preference in my heart over Christ.

It’s been difficult but good to pray that He would never give me material for idolatry (i.e., the giving of His gifts while they are idols in my heart) & that He would give only when Christ is first & preeminent in my decisions & affections. When Christ alone is worshiped.

I read this excerpt from John Piper a few years ago, but I was sweetly reminded of it via Courtney recently (thanks, sis):

Until your soul has a thirst for Christ as the bread of life & the living water, you will use Christ for what your soul thirsts after. Many people who claim to have saving faith simply use Christ to get what they really want, which is not Christ but His gifts . . . Is He or His gifts your treasure?
(John Piper in Let the Nations Be Glad!)

God is not capricious, giving & withholding based on mood or other arbitrary fluctuations. (He is not like us.) He is good & “God only wise.”

Knowing that, I’m to cling to Christ alone & the truths He’s revealed in His Word (note: my circumstances are not exactly comparable to the ones described below, at least in context of the verses, but the truths of God & the heart attitudes revealed in them are truths to hide in my heart):

“Salvation belongs to the LORD . . .” (Psalm 3:8 )

“But I trust in You, O LORD; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hands . . .” (Psalm 31:14-15)

“Oh, taste & see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him! Oh, fear the LORD, you His saints, for those who fear Him have no lack! The young lions suffer want & hunger; but those who seek the LORD lack no good thing.” (Psalm 34:8-10)

“Delight yourself in the LORD, & He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD; trust in Him, & He will act.” (Psalm 37:4-5)

“For the LORD God is a sun & shield; the LORD bestows favor & honor. No good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly. O LORD of hosts, blessed is the one who trusts in You!” (Psalm 84:11-12)

“Our God is in the heavens; He does all that He pleases.” (Psalm 115:3)

“The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the LORD.” (Proverbs 16:33)

“The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the LORD; He turns it wherever He will.” (Proverbs 21:1)

“‘The LORD is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in Him.’ The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him. It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the LORD.” (Lamentations 3:24-26)

“For the Gentiles seek after all these things, & your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God & His righteousness, & all these things will be added to you.” (Matthew 6:32-33)

“& we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28 )

“He who did not spare His own Son but gave Him up for us all, how will He not also with Him graciously give us all things?” (Romans 8:31)

“So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy.” (Romans 9:16)

“To Him be the dominion forever and ever. Amen.” (I Peter 5:11, emphasis added)

He knows what He is doing, & He will do all His good pleasure. I thank Him He loves me enough not to give me everything I want when I want it. It reminds me He is God, my good Father & King, not a “goods” vending machine or a means to my own ends.

One of my favorite songs:
All I once held dear, built my life upon,

All this world reveres & wars to own,
All I once thought gain, I have counted loss,
Spent & worthless now, compared to this:
Knowing You, Jesus, knowing You,
There is no greater thing.

Lesser gifts may be withheld or never given, but let me bow as He defines what is “good” in my life.
Lesser gifts may be withheld or never given, but Christ — never. Praise God.

2 Responses to “Tángeyoo (Part 2).”

  1. cindytsau Says:

    HAHAHA IM ONE OF THEM!! 😉

  2. cindytsau Says:

    oops. i meant this comment for the one of all the vegetable entry.


Leave a Reply

