In His time.

May 5, 2008

I’m so thankful I’m not the master of my own time. I’m so thankful I’m not the one who divinely appoints when & where things will occur.

I’ve been asking God about the “when” & “where” about certain things in my life for the past several years. Biographies tell of God’s working in individuals’ lives . . . & I scan for any evidence of those same workings in my life. As if God were bounded to a formula. As if God had only a small repertoire of “methods” that He returned to again & again. As if God’s ways could be picked apart & analyzed by a finite mind. As if God thoughts & purposes were on the same level as mine.

I feel like I always live with an eye to the future. Where, Lord? When, Lord? What next, Lord? I forget sometimes that Tomorrow isn’t even guaranteed, & I must begin living for Him now. Here. With what He’s given today. Everything I have today is enough to glorify Him today.

He’ll give enough light for the next step when it’s time. The secret things belong to Him; my heart can rest in that.

“‘Wait on the Lord’ is a constant refrain in the Psalms, & it is a necessary word, for God often keeps us waiting. He is not in such a hurry as we are, & it is not His way to give more light on the future than we need for action in the present, or to guide us more than one step at a time. When in doubt, do nothing, but continue to wait on God. When action is needed, light will come.
(J.I. Packer, from the chapter “Thou Our Guide” in Knowing God)

5 Responses to “In His time.”

  1. atakeo Says:

    You make aware of myself. The global world is just really a globe. It become too small because of the blogs. My blog is in Indonesian. Sorry you may fail to understand.

  2. atakeo Says:

    Tia, I am Catholic since my babyhood. I speak Indonesia. My English is not very perfect one. I learned English since I was in Senior high school.
    I appreciate your blog. Once started writing English Blog, but failed to continue. I am not so sure of my English.
    But anyhow I can read well. Dropping by some english bloggs, I can enlarge my english vocabulary. You share in it. Deo Gratias

  3. stephanie Says:

    wow tia =) i hadn’t even read yours yet.

    “He is not in such a hurry as we are, & it is not His way to give more light on the future than we need for action in the present, or to guide us more than one step at a time.”

    i got your email too..i’ll email you back, but what you wrote is something i’m kind of anxious about.

  4. courtneychow Says:

    “Six faces”…I was JUST thinking about this yesterday. Your quote gives me more to chew and pray about in my heart.

  5. tia Says:

    Court: Your comment didn’t post under “One Face.” I wonder if WordPress has some bugs. But I can’t wait to see you & be able to talk to you . . . I want to hear the outcome of the chewing & praying ❤

    :]


Leave a Reply

