A “clear” day.

May 6, 2008

I love my grandpa.

In the past, he fluctuated between “clear” days (days when he’d remember who we were & where he was) & “unclear” days (days when he didn’t know us & thought he was in a prison or somewhere else). Most of this is due to a combination of Alzheimer’s, dementia, & the lasting effects of traumatic brain injury.

Since last September or October, the number of “clear” days was less than 3.

But yesterday afternoon, he made eye contact with me when I greeted him. I couldn’t remember the last time he even made eye contact with anyone for a sustained period of time. I tested him to see if he knew me: “Do you know who I am?” He answered in Korean, “Granddaughter.”

It was the first conversation we’d had in a long time. He remembered God’s love for him. He remembered Christ’s death for his sins. He remembered God’s keeping power. He remembered God’s care for him.

As we reviewed these things, he held out his hand to me; & for the first time in my life, I saw my grandpa cry. His body shook as he silently cried. God knows his weariness, & God knows to give him comfort upon comfort through reminders of His love. Such is our good God. Such is Abba’s heart.

It was difficult to eventually leave, because I didn’t know how long it would be until he had another clear day . . . or if ever he’d have another clear day as his mind & body progressively deteriorate.

But when I see Grandpa, I see a visual reminder of 2 Corinthians 4:16-18:

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

That’s another passage, besides Psalm 23, that we read often. & we don’t lose heart . . .

6 Responses to “A “clear” day.”

  1. atakeo Says:

    I remember my father in my home town. He can’t afford to use his eyes anymore. Because of too old and diabetes. He has no clear day. But He has good fortune, God provides my beloved father the clear mind. He still communicate very well except eye contact.
    Your granpa must be Korean, I visited Ginseng country several times and stayed several months there. Anyong haseyo.

  2. nathan Says:

    thanks for sharing this tia.

  3. stevenhong Says:

    Thanks for sharing. Makes me think of my grandma. Her memory is failing too, though not as severely. Yet, it’s encouraging to see her joy in the Lord. It’s funny, but I think faith becomes far more evident in old age, because then you really see if you are moving closer to your treasures, or farther away.

  4. tia Says:

    I really appreciate these comments.

    & Steven, that last sentence was “money” (to put it in the words of D.Ahn).

  5. stevenhong Says:

    I should say, then, I stole it from Randy Alcorn.

  6. cindytsau Says:

    🙂 thank you for sharingggg


Leave a Reply

