Blaming God.

June 4, 2008

I’ve been taking my time studying through Genesis lately. A couple days ago, I was rereading Genesis 3, when Adam and Eve are deflecting the responsibility for their sin; and as I was journaling about Adam’s response, God kindly but directly exposed sin in my heart, too.

Adam told God, “The woman whom You gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” (Genesis 3:12)

Nothing I haven’t read before; he’s blaming Eve for his sin toward God, right? But then I read it again.

“The woman whom You gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” Whoa. He was ultimately blaming God — God who created the world & who, with deep pleasure over His creation, said, “It is good.” God who, with compassion towards Adam, said it was “not good” that man should be alone. God who, in His kindness, fashioned a companion, a suitable helper, for Adam (Eve, woman).

And now, after sinning and sabotaging the creation that had made God’s heart swell with pleasure, Adam basically throws the blame back in God’s face, saying, “You . . . You gave me this woman. Ultimately it’s Your fault that I sinned in this way. Eve gave me the fruit, but You gave me Eve. So You God are culpable. God, You have done this — not me.”

I thought Adam must have been crazy & must have considered his life to be worthy very little to point the finger at the holy God of the universe & say, “You are responsible for my sin.”

But immediately, the thought came: Do I blame God like that? God, the circumstances You gave me? The family or home You gave me? The mother or father You gave me? The personality You gave me?

I do that, too. It makes me tremble to think of it. I take the weight of my sin, thrust it in God’s face, & say, “God, You’ve sovereignly given these things to me. Why did You give them to me? It’s Your fault. You’re responsible for my sin . . . so it’s not fair that I receive sin’s wages or punishment. If anyone, You should.” (I couldn’t help but tremble writing that out even now.)

Terror. Grief. That’s the order of emotions as I reflected on the passage. Terror to think what God’s just response should have been to my defiance and treachery. Grief to know I had been blaming my sin on the perfect One who imputed my sin to Himself & His righteousness to me.

I had to repent, praying for forgiveness and for the grace to root this sin out of my heart (and I will probably need to do this again & again as I continually seek to put off the flesh & put on Christ).  He forgives even this sin, not because it’s a light thing, but because Christ paid the full price for sins on Calvary.  Amazing grace . . . how can I understand it?  It is high; I cannot attain it.

Searching questions to ask myself often:
– Am I blaming God for sinful habits in my life by saying I picked them up from the loved ones He placed in my life?
– Am I blaming God for placing me in situations and in circumstances that “force” me to respond in sin?
– Am I blaming God for the consequences of my sinful choices?
– Am I blaming God for the hardness of my heart, for my lack of trust, by saying that He is distant or ambiguous or unclear?
– Am I blaming God, saying He made love and obedience too difficult?

2 Responses to “Blaming God.”

  1. nanceshorts :D Says:

    thanks for this post me tia =] it was a good rebuke to me since i sometimes just want to blame God for various hardships & circumstances. i need to remember that Christ is my Savior — not scapegoat.

    SEE YOU SOON! ❤

  2. tia Says:

    Nance, that makes two of us.

    I can’t wait to see you Tuesday morning!


Leave a Reply

