Two holes.

July 30, 2008

This next week, I’ll be posting about the Women Discipling Women conference I attended a couple weekends ago. There was so much to take in those two days … & I’m still trying to process it all in my mind & in my heart.

But finally, after almost 24 years of back-and-forthness (ok, more like 24 – 4 years), I’ve hole-punched my earlobes.

I sent out a “just for fun” email about finally getting my ears pierced, and look at what one person wrote back:

congratulations! you can now relate to my 11 yr old daughter! hahahaha!!! 😉

To give you a hint, her name starts with “J-” and ends in “-inny.”

And just something I read this morning in The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions:

MAN’S GREAT END

LORD OF ALL BEING,
There is one thing that deserves my greatest care,
that calls forth my ardent desires,
That is, that I may answer the great end for which I am made–
to glorify thee who hast given me being,
and to do all the good I can for my fellow men;
Verily life is not worth having
if it be not improved for this noble purpose.
Yet, Lord, how little is this the thought of mankind!
Most men seem to live for themselves,
without much or any regard for thy glory,
or for the good of others;
They earnestly desire and eagerly pursue
the riches, honours, pleasures of this life,
as if they supposed that wealth, greatness, merriment,
could make their immortal souls happy;
But, alas, what false delusive dreams are these!
And how miserable ere long will those be that sleep in them,
for all our happiness consists in loving thee,
as being holy as thou art holy.

… Help me to know continually
that there can be no true happiness,
no fulfilling of thy purpose for me,
apart from a life lived in and for the Son of thy love.

7 Responses to “Two holes.”

  1. nanceshorts :) Says:

    it’s otay, tia!! i waited ’til i was 22 to get mine pierced, so it took me ALMOST as long as you :]

  2. Derek Wong Says:

    Haha congratulations, Leticia Han.

    I just now realized that even though I saw you at the wedding this past weekend, I didn’t talk to you at all except to say hi. Too bad, too bad.

  3. tia Says:

    derek: haha, awww, i know … i had to leave the reception early. my flight left that night. but seriously, every time i see you, the first thing that comes to mind is: “God bless America …” in a super-sonic, booming voice. hahaha.

    nanceshorts: it was so good seeing your beautiful face at the conference. *hug!!!*

  4. bachnguyen Says:

    Are you out of San Diego yet.

  5. tia Says:

    bach: “whatever.”

    hahaha

  6. garnet Says:

    hehe i havent pierced my ears yet!

  7. Moon Choi Says:

    This makes me want to get more piercings…

    Come back to San Diego. 😦 (More like, I’ll see you when I’m back home? Haha.)


Leave a Reply

