Study br eak.

September 30, 2008

MBA classes started last week, and I feel like I’m learning a foreign language, especially in my accounting class.  Most of my “colleagues” are managers or have at least a few years of experience under their belt.  I think, in lots of ways, I learn more from them than from the professor or textbook.  In all of my classes, I feel like I’m on the page of one of those children’s workbooks: “What doesn’t belong here?”  :]  But it’s been interesting (really) learning this stuff … especially in light of what’s been going on in the economy lately.
God is sovereign in all things–MBA stuff and the economy alike–and (I pray) I don’t take that fact lightly.

For the past month and a half, I think I’ve sent out about 4-5 resumes every day (except weekends).  Nonprofit organizations were my first choice in terms of where to work, but nothing was going through.  Finally, last week, I found a Human Resources job posting for a Christian nonprofit organization that does homeless ministry, youth outreach, drug and alcohol addiction recovery services, and other inner-city work.  And … I heard back from them!  My interview and “tests” are tomorrow.  But if this job goes through, I feel like it’ll be one of those, “I can’t believe I’m getting paid to do this!” jobs.  Neat how God works.  :]

While running today, I was listening to John Piper’s sermon from Resolved 2007 — A Passion for God’s Supremacy and Compassion for Man’s Soul.  If I had to write down all the “quotables” from this sermon, I might as well write a sermon transcript for it … but here’s a snippet from his prayer at the end:

Take these … and burn both these motives into their hearts, and if they don’t feel them right now, if they’re not rising with some measure of intensity, I pray that they would not stop their quest on their face before You, over Your word, until those motives are red-hot … “I am gone for the glory of God and for the rescuing of these people …”

Leave a Reply

