Gratias.

October 23, 2008

(Latin for “thank you.”)

It’s been a while since my last “thank You” (note the capital “Y”) post.  So, without any further ado, thank You …

1. For the sweet truth that Jesus is better.

In the midst of all the busyness lately, the one recurring theme in everything seems to be: Jesus is better.

Our girls’ Bible study has been going through the book of Hebrews, and the whole refrain of Hebrews is the superiority of Christ.  Jesus is better — not just better in measure, but better in kind; not just because of what He did or does, but because of who He is.  It’s been one thing to know this in the abstract.  It’s been another thing to know this and see this in the day to day.  Jesus is better!

And thanks to Stephen, I’ve been listening through Mark Driscoll’s sermon series through Philippians, The Rebel’s Guide to Joy.  At the end of his first sermon, Driscoll talks about how we are enslaved to sin, enslaved to the opinions of people, and enslaved to other masters (self included).  And then he asks, “Are these better masters than Jesus?”  The clear answer, of course, is, “No, they aren’t.”  Yet, I still run after these idols, these masters, as though they are better than Jesus.  But Jesus is better!

Compared to anything, anyone, anywhere, Jesus is better!

2. For my coworkers.

The longer I work at at my new job, the more I thank God that it was His good pleasure to place me there.  Let me tell you about some of my coworkers …

One man in his sixties has no children (though he’s the kind of man that would adore and be adored by children), and he and his wife have given their lives to inner-city ministry.  Though he has a weak heart, he pours his heart and life and energy out in service for Christ.

Another man has limited control of his limbs and speech production, but I can see him walking around the office sometimes.  Most often, however, he can be found sitting on his chair, praying.  He’s known as the corporate prayer warrior.

One of my coworkers is a 97-year old man who drives himself to work every day and works for no pay.  He’s a volunteer, and at 97, he’s still going strong for the Lord.

My coworkers challenge me — to pour out my whole life for Christ, to pray without losing heart, to run strong for Christ even to my old age …

3. For Leslie Miller’s successful surgery.

Leslie is one of the girls in our church’s youth group.  She was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor.  She underwent surgery yesterday, and the surgeon was able to remove all of the tumor!

She will continue to undergo treatment afterward.  (But what a trooper.  She’s waiting for her pink wig to arrive in the mail!)

4. That whatever You ordain is right.

That I can trust Him — His sovereignty — in anything and everything, because it is all from His loving hand.  And though what comes from His hand may seem bitter to me, I would rather have what He gives than what I sinfully take.

Whatever my God ordains is right
In His love I am abiding
I will be still in all He does
And follow where He is guiding
He is my God, though dark my road
He holds me that I shall not fall
And so to Him I leave it all.

Whatever my God ordains is right
Though this cup in drinking
Bitter it seems to my faint heart
I take it all unshrinking
My God is true; each morn anew
Sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart
And pain and sorrow shall depart.

Whatever my God ordains is right
He never will deceive me
He leads me by the proper path
I know He will not leave me
I take content, what He has sent
His hand can turn my griefs away
And patiently I wait His day.

Whatever my God ordains is right
Here shall my stand be taken
Though sorrow, or need, or death be mine
Yet I am not forsaken
My Father’s care circles me there
He holds me that I shall not fall
And so to Him I leave it all.

(Samuel Rodigast, 1663)

3 Responses to “Gratias.”

  1. simp1ysteph Says:

    tia, i love this line: “He holds me that I shall not fall. And so to Him I leave it all.” Jesus is better…=] ‘nother phone date soon?

  2. tia Says:

    yes, please! 😀


  3. Letitia,
    I just read my first “thank You” post….totally cool. You have some great reflections and praises here but I most appreciate the fact that you consistently remember to thank. In a world of grocery list prayers what a great reminder it is to thank God for the gracious provisions that pour from who He is. Keep on rocking in the free world.
    Sorry we did not get a chance to hang when I was home last week…next time for shizzle.

    Peace.


Leave a Reply

