Director of Human Genome Project’s Testimony.

November 12, 2008

Dr. Francis Collins is the director of the Human Genome Project, and he submitted his personal testimony to CNN. I was really encouraged after reading it. Here are some excerpts from it (enjoy!):

I had to admit that the science I loved so much was powerless to answer questions such as “What is the meaning of life?” “Why am I here?” “Why does mathematics work, anyway?” “If the universe had a beginning, who created it?” “Why are the physical constants in the universe so finely tuned to allow the possibility of complex life forms?” “Why do humans have a moral sense?” “What happens after we die?”

But reason alone cannot prove the existence of God … You have to hear the music, not just read the notes on the page. Ultimately, a leap of faith is required.

For me, that leap came in my 27th year, after a search to learn more about God’s character led me to the person of Jesus Christ. Here was a person with remarkably strong historical evidence of his life, who made astounding statements about loving your neighbor, and whose claims about being God’s son seemed to demand a decision about whether he was deluded or the real thing. After resisting for nearly two years, I found it impossible to go on living in such a state of uncertainty, and I became a follower of Jesus.

The God of the Bible is also the God of the genome. God can be found in the cathedral or in the laboratory. By investigating God’s majestic and awesome creation, science can actually be a means of worship.

4 Responses to “Director of Human Genome Project’s Testimony.”

  1. Derek Wong Says:

    Oh neat! I’m off to read the article.

    I like that he uses the likes of Lewis and Chesterton whom I am currently reading and recently read, respectively.

    How did you find this article? Or do you just enjoy reading CNN all of the time?

  2. tia Says:

    Haha, nice.

    And I do happen to browse CNN, BBC News, and other sites (but probably those two the most often) … usually at night or when I occasionally cover the front desk at work :]

    I found the article today while covering today. It was a related link to another article. Good stuff!

  3. Ruth Ann Says:

    Wow! As a closet chemistry geek, it’s always encouraging to me to hear about scientists who boldly proclaim their faith. Personally, I’ve always felt that the more I learn about science, the more it affirms my belief in a powerful Creator God who designed everything to work in harmony.

    His comments about evolution were disappointing, but the rest of it was good. Thanks for sharing this. šŸ™‚

  4. tia Says:

    Ruth Ann, I don’t think your chemistry (or calculus) geekiness is as closeted as you think … but I still accept love you. ;D

    And maybe he meant microevolution or evolution in the loosest sense, though I don’t know for sure.


Leave a Reply

