Remaining TEAchable.

December 13, 2008

001 Today was our ladies’ Christmas tea at church.  It was my first time decorating a table, not to mention it was a bit last minute … but when I went to church last night to set up, a couple ladies really helped me out (i.e., the cloth napkins were borrowed, the table cloth was borrowed, and the cranberries were “donated” to me by the next table’s hostess).

It was so sweet being on the “being teached” end again.  It was sweet not knowing everything … or rather, knowing that I didn’t know everything.

What kinds of utensils do I need to bring?  How do I fold the cloth napkin?  How do I set the utensils if all I have is a spoon and fork?  How many plates do I bring?

As I left church last night, I was so thankful for the simple reminder to remain teachable — not only when I know I don’t know, but especially when I think I know something!

It’s becoming more difficult, especially as I grow older, to keep a teachable heart.  I’m not quite there yet, but I’m sure a time will come when nothing I hear will be especially novel anymore.  But even then, to learn with eagerness.  Even when I’m reading 2 Corinthians for the thousandth time, to come with a heart ready to learn, ready to learn the same truths in deeper shades.  Even when I think I have life and God figured out according to my pantry of various experiences, to humble myself before Scripture and others’ counsel when they don’t match up to my opinions or worldview.

“God only wise, forgive me for my pride.  Forgive me for my obstinate heart.  Give me a teachable heart, Rabboni.”

2 Responses to “Remaining TEAchable.”

  1. court Says:

    Thanks for sharing. Miss ya. Merry Christmas, Tia.

  2. tia Says:

    Miss you, too, Court … let’s catch up soon.


Leave a Reply

