Simply Jesus.

December 22, 2008

A week ago, I was rummaging the shelves of a store, looking for Christmas cards.  Santa Claus in his usual get-up, three lean wise men, a velvety puppy with bright red ribbon, a cozy cottage with gray smoke leisurely circling out the chimney …

They were cute but not quite what I was looking for.  To be honest, I didn’t really know what I was looking for; all I knew was that those weren’t it.

I turned the corner and started rummaging through the shelves on the next aisle.  The classic nativity scene, comical elves, a single ornament hanging from a branch …

Then I saw a square-ish card with a cute picture of baby Jesus in some straw.  “Too cutesy.”  I was ready to rummage on until I saw what was written under the picture: Simply Jesus.

I think I stared at that for a good minute or two.  Simply Jesus.

Leave a Reply

