His humility humbles me.

December 25, 2008

I have 38 minutes left until Christmas 2008 ends, so Merry Christmas! (I accidentally wished my cousin a happy birthday instead this morning…)

I’ve been reading through the Apostle Paul’s epistles, and when I reached Philippians, I was about to skip it because I’d read it so many times already in the past couple months.  But as I began reading through Colossians, I felt a little uneasy (maybe “guilty” is a better description), so I went back to Philippians and began reading.  Then after 2:1-11, I got “stuck.”

I’ve been reading and meditating on that one passage for the past week, and it’s like I’m reading it again for the first time.  My thoughts have ranged anywhere from, “Huh?” to “That’s crazy…” to “Oy…”

And His humility humbles me … not to say that I’m humble, but something about reading of God the Son’s humility for the sake of making the many righteous, and for the sake of the Father’s glory, breaks me.

It wasn’t easy for Him.  It wasn’t only His death that came at a cost; His incarnation came at a cost, too.  And He didn’t humble Himself and become a servant because He loved lowliness for its own sake.  He didn’t become the Son of Man because He thought it would be easy or suiting to Him.

He humbled Himself in willing obedience to the One He loved for the sake of those He loved: mankind in all his broken, sinful, ruined deadness.  The same ones I struggle to love and humble myself for.

Yes, we are to be humble because He is God Most High, not us.  And yes, we are to be humble because we are but dust.  And yes, we are to be humble because we are frail and embattled sinners.  But we’re also to be humble because our Lord humbled Himself.  It doesn’t make sense for servants to scorn humble servanthood when their very own Master humbly served (serves).

His heart is for the glory of God and the complete salvation of the lost.  So great was His desire that He even “made Himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.  And being found in human form, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”

In following Him, then, can’t we be obedient to the point of smaller things?  Can’t we then strive to imitate His humility and serve for the sake of seeing the many made righteous, covered with the righteousness of Christ, to the glory of God the Father?

Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who though He was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made Himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.  And being found in the likeness of men, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.  Therefore God has highly exalted Him and bestowed on Him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
(Philippians 2:1-11)

4 Responses to “His humility humbles me.”

  1. denniematthews Says:

    hello,

    Very well written… indeed appreciate that.

    I just thought of sharing this… have you ever noticed that we are oft humbled when we are in the presence of the Lord especially His word. Those thoughts are so powerful and constraining at those moments. However, sustaining that thought and putting that into practice has oft been very difficult. As is written about our Lord …. he became humble, he became obedient and we really are touched and many times nothing beyond that, for alas it does not become practical in our lives. We are always good listeneers but poor practitioners. May the Lord help us to be loving, true, holy, obedient and humble children of God — PRACTICALLY so that HE be indeed honored through our lives.

    Thanks.

  2. tia Says:

    Thanks for your comment (and insight), Dennie.

    You’re right…sustaining those thoughts and applying them is difficult. In a way, I guess it makes sense that it’s so difficult. We can’t do it on our own.

    I can’t think of how many times I’ve been convicted or remorseful … but then nothing after that. Kind of like King Saul’s occasional remorse and even acknowledgment of God … but no repentance. No change. No resolve to walk by the Spirit.

    I’m taking your exhortation to heart. Thank you.

  3. jennifershin Says:

    miss you, tia. ❤ haven’t talked to you in a very very long time. i’ll call you soon! =] i was thinking about going up north this break, but it didn’t work out. perhaps another time? =D

  4. tia Says:

    I don’t like the word “perhaps” ….. ;]

    Call me soon! (huuuuug)


Leave a Reply

