On fear.

January 5, 2009

(This is going to be a quickie, because I’m really sleepy…)

As I was sharing some fears with a good friend today, he said something like this:

I’ll pray for you — not that He would take away your fears but that He would help you walk in spite of them.

This totally caught me off guard.  I was expecting to hear, “I’ll pray that He’ll take away those fears,” or “I’ll pray you’ll conquer those fears and then be able to step out in faith,” or something along those lines.

But walking by faith when the fears still aren’t dissipated?  Stepping out in faith when the fears are still nudging at my heart and mind?  Trusting Him when my fears may actually be pretty legitimate?

Crazy…

7 Responses to “On fear.”

  1. nanceshorts ;D Says:

    wow. that is so honest. a mark of true Christian love that cares for your soul =)
    miss you, tiaaa. come back down to socal soon, please!

  2. tia Says:

    nancy, i’m planning to come in a couple weeks for a family friend’s bar mitzvah … but i don’t know how many people i’ll be able to see since i’ll be spending most of my time in simi valley! so, if not this trip, hopefully another one soon! maybe over my spring break in march? :]

  3. simp1ysteph Says:

    ii..hear ya. =)

  4. tia Says:

    ya do?

    i think you’re too far to hear me. you need to move closer. like next door … as in the next room, not the next house ;]

  5. lilstar Says:

    good stuff old roomie =)

  6. tia Says:

    awwww, steph (lilstar)!!!!!!! it’s been so long!! check your email!!

  7. nance shorts Says:

    spring break in march, please! or sooner, actually…. =) but i’ll take what i can get! lemme knowwww!


Leave a Reply

