01.14.09

January 14, 2009

I asked the God who wept if He really cared.
I asked Immanuel if He was really near.
I asked the Man of Sorrows
What He knew of grief.
I asked Agape if He really meant, “I love you.”

I asked the Faithful One if He’d abandoned me.
I asked the God of all compassion if He had heard my pleas.
I asked the God who gave His Son
What He knew of loss.
I asked the God who sees if He noticed this.

And He said,

Precious child, dearly loved,
Don’t you know I’ve put your tears in My bottle?
Don’t you know how near I am to the brokenhearted?
Don’t you remember Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?
Don’t you know I’ve set My love on you before the foundation of the world?

And don’t you know that I’ll never leave you nor forsake you?
Don’t you know I hear even the faintest groans issuing from the tumult of your heart?
Don’t you remember the unspeakable price of It is finished?
Don’t you know I see even the sparrow’s fall?

Be still, precious child, dearly loved,
and know that I am God.
Even as I weep with you,
I am on My throne.

3 Responses to “01.14.09”

  1. jennifer lee Says:

    call me anytime tomorrow

  2. simp1ysteph Says:

    ❤ loved this tia.

  3. tia Says:

    lovelove to both of you…


Leave a Reply

