Letters from Rachel Barkey.

June 1, 2009

A little break from the love meditations …

Reading letters from Rachel Barkey, a wife and mother in her last months of cancer, has been encouraging and sobering.  I recommend them.  She writes them on her webpage, Death Is Not Dying.

I am finding that my greatest challenge and what occupies my thoughts most these days is how to finish well. All the little things that I battle daily seem to loom larger in the waiting of each day and moment as my impatience and selfish tendencies rush to the forefront of every thought and activity.

So my challenge is to finish well. And it seems I am to do this by waiting. Appropriately, I found this verse in Lamentations:

“It is good that one should wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

Waiting. Quietly. It is a good thing apparently.

I have added it to my To Do list…

(Rachel Barkey)

Leave a Reply

