He says stop (and rest).

September 21, 2009

Summer is making quite the exit with her heat and sunny, clear skies.  But she can’t fool us.  The sun is setting earlier, and tomorrow marks the official start of autumn — well, on the calendar at least.  :]

This past month has been one of alternating times of refining and refreshing, of tumult and rest.  The words of the hymn, Day by Day, come to mind, “He whose heart is kind beyond all measure gives unto each day what He deems best, lovingly its part of pain and pleasure, mingling toil with peace and rest.”  It’s so true.

A week or so ago, I read Elisabeth Adams’ post, Heart at Leisure, about the Sabbath and rest.  I’ve copied the following excerpts both into my journal and on my desktop, as a reminder for when my weeks become exhaustingly “busy” again:

If I could sum up what Sabbath means to me, it would take just 3 words.  He says stop.

Sabbath is God’s permission to say no to the tyranny of the urgent.  He knows I wouldn’t stop if He didn’t command me to do it.  He knows that in my world, there’s always one more thing to do.

Sometimes it seems selfish to stop.  But the greater the demands, the more I need to fill my reservoir.  When my body is begging for a break, when my temper grows short, when my resistance to temptation is getting low, I’m responsible to refill my physical, emotional, and spiritual reservoirs.  But how?  It doesn’t come through ‘me’ time, nor does it come from being pious.  (Believe me, I’ve tried).  There’s just one source, and it’s the same one that transformed those ordinary, uneducated first disciples.  They had been with Jesus.

No matter how demanding or urgent all those scheduled events, meetings, deadlines, to-do’s, and little (and great) emergencies may seem, the humble heart rests.  The worshipping heart rests with an unhurried look at the Savior.  The world will not fall apart if we should rest, for there is One who neither slumbers nor sleeps.  And it is in Him that all things hold together.

Selah.

5 Responses to “He says stop (and rest).”

  1. stephanie Says:

    you’re back =) ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. letitia Says:

    no … i’m tia :]

    and ❤ ❤ ❤ to youuu.

  3. Lis Says:

    Hello from a first-time visitor! That’s one of my favorite hymns…and what a lovely, lyrical end to your post. :O)

  4. letitia Says:

    Hi Lis! Hymns are great, aren’t they? 🙂

  5. letitia Says:

    “Lis” ….. I just read your most recent article on Boundless, “A Time to Waste,” and you have officially made your way to the top of my favorite Boundless writer list 🙂 I visited your blog via the article, saw your email address, and put two and two together. Can’t wait to read more from you, sister!


Leave a Reply

