Beneath the Cross.

November 8, 2009

“Let us not expect too much from our own hearts here below.  At our best we shall find in ourselves daily cause for humiliation, and discover that we are needy debtors to mercy and grace every hour.”

(J.C. Ryle, Holiness, p.39)

I spent almost the whole weekend surrounded by and interacting with family, immediate and extended.  I was hardly ever alone this weekend.  The littlest cousin even followed me to school on Saturday, sat next to me while I was in section, and drew pictures for me.

It was such a sweet and fun time, yet the sweetness was sometimes marred by the recognition of my heart sin.  The unkind act, the hurtful remark, the general self-absorption.  Sin that is sometimes only revealed as it finds canvas on the lives of those nearest and dearest to us.

So, at the conclusion of one of the sweetest weekends I’ve had in a long time, I find myself beneath the Cross once more, in need of repentance and in need of His mercies.  The legalist in me is whispering lies, saying that I must do penance or somehow make up for past sin.  But Jesus is enough.  His righteousness is enough.  His death is enough.  His resurrection is enough.  His grace is enough.

I am a debtor to His mercy and grace every hour, but oh, such a thankful one.

2 Responses to “Beneath the Cross.”

  1. keziahkim Says:

    you have such a beautiful way with words, tia. i love it. 🙂

  2. letitia Says:

    gracias, kezpez ❤ i definitely enjoy it…and i think He's given that enjoyment in His goodness :]]]


Leave a Reply

