Glimpses of last Saturday.

November 30, 2009

I woke up, and it was 9:30 am.  Rachael was still asleep next to me, so I softly tiptoed out of her room and half-closed the door behind me.  On my way out to the kitchen, I saw a note on the floor in the hallway.  I had to stoop low to read it, because my contacts weren’t in yet: Breakfast is on me.

Thinking Nathan was making breakfast, I peeked into the kitchen to see if I could surprise him, but he wasn’t there.  Everyone else was still asleep (we had stayed up late watching two episodes of 24), so I pulled my Bible from my backpack.

Aunt Connie came out to the kitchen as I finished reading.  She whispered, “Nathan went to buy bagels!  I told him I’d been wanting Noah’s bagels.”

When Nathan came home, we marched to Rachael’s room, and I had to stifle my laughter as he proceeded to give her a military-esque wake-up call and routine.  We wanted our bagels, and she had to wake up to eat them with us!

Uncle Young was still jet-lagged from his trip, so he slept in while we enjoyed breakfast and each other’s company.

. . .

Mom called.  “Can you pick up some yarn for me from Michael’s on your way home?”

. . .

“Hi Unni, are you almost here?”  “Hi Leslie, I’ll be there in just a few minutes!  Is everyone there already?”  “Yup!”  “Okay, I’ll see you soon!”

At the door, Alisa (the littlest cousin) tackled me with a hug.  Her hair was unkempt, probably from rolling around with Kkoma.  “I missed you!”  Leslie was proudly sporting a Birthday Princess crown, and eight of her school friends giggled with excitement as we left for her birthday tea party at Santana Row.  Before leaving, I glimpsed a furry blur of brown wearing a Santa outfit — Kkoma.

Once, during the tea, while laughing with a few of Leslie’s friends, she caught my eye and smiled.  Another time, she caught my eye again and gave me a thumbs-up with an ear-to-ear grin.  Stirring cream and sugar into my cup, I thanked God in my heart for cousins.  He never answered my childhood prayers for little brothers and sisters, but he gave younger cousins.

I leisurely walked behind the eight girls as they oo-ed and ah-ed over Christmas decorations along the Row.  Maybe screamed and giggled is more accurate?  Who can blame them anyway for being 14-years old?

Alisa tackled me again at the door.  She looked at me tearfully and asked, “Do you really have to go?  Will you come again?  When are you going to come again?”  She was satisfied with, “Next week, when I’m on break, we’ll play, okay?  Think of things you want to do together.”

. . .

I joined Mom and Dad for dinner at our family friends’ new home.  All the kids were in the bedroom, watching YouTube videos on three different laptops, while the parents lingered over dinner in conversation.

Right when I thought I was in the clear, their conversation turned to the topic of … well, if you know anything about Korean parents (maybe all parents?), you know. :]

. . .

Ruth Ann and I called Jason so he could open the apartment door for us.  Carrie, Kyle, and Daniel looked out from the window and happily waved to us.  We waved back, just as happily.

The apartment was warm and filled with friends, some of whom I hadn’t seen in a while.  “This feels like a youth group reunion!”  We laughed.

I gave JoAnna and Patrick each a hug.  (How good it was to see them together, with JoAnna wearing his ring!)

Later, we sat them in matching chairs and shared about the blessings of seeing their relationship blossom to engagement.  We expressed our hopes and prayers for their marriage — Christ- and gospel-centered, reflecting His love, marked by servanthood and sacrifice, blessed with missionary kids fluent in the language of wherever they end up.  Then we prayed for them.

. . . . . . .

Cousins.  Family.  Friends.  I’m so thankful.  The same relationships that make me cry out to Him, sometimes with grief and sometimes with despair, are also the relationships that cause me to crumble before Him with heart-full gratitude.

How good He is, in times when we recognize it and in times when we don’t.  And at the end of the day, He is our best portion yet.

3 Responses to “Glimpses of last Saturday.”

  1. keziahkim Says:

    my heart literally feels warm whenever i read your posts…<3 i LOVE that…"He is our best portion yet."

  2. Cassie Says:

    Sounds like you had a blessed weekend, my friend. Isn’t it nice to reflect on all our God has provided us with. A very important practice and one you are very good at!

  3. tia Says:

    i ❤ kez and cass.


Leave a Reply

