Can you love…and not love Christ?

December 30, 2009

Searching questions from Thomas Vincent in The True Christian’s Love to the Unseen Christ:

Can you love people and things that are but imperfectly lovely–and not love Jesus Christ who is altogether lovely!

Can you love one who has some inferior honor and power and authority–and not love Jesus Christ who is the Lord of glory, who has all power and authority both in heaven and earth?

Can you love such as have some earthly wisdom and learning–and not love Jesus Christ, who is the wisdom of the Father, who knows all things, and whose wisdom is divine?

Can you love such as are somewhat liberal and bountiful–and not love Christ, whose bounty is superlative, and whose gifts are most rich and transcendent?

Can you love friends who are somewhat kind–and not love Jesus Christ, who is the best friend that men ever had?

Can you love a benefactor who feeds you, and clothes you, and gives money to you–and yet not love Christ, who offers to feed your hunger-starved souls with the Bread of Life, to cloth your naked souls with the robes of His righteousness, and to give the spiritual riches of grace to you, the least of which is of more than all the riches of the earth?

5 Responses to “Can you love…and not love Christ?”

  1. natekwak Says:

    mmm, good list. Its interesting to think about whether or not a person can love, without it being done with (and through!) the love of Christ. i suppose theres a lot of semantics issues here. Hey cool background tia!

  2. letitia Says:

    nate, i thought about that, too — whether love is love unless through Christ. and i think it’s another one of those facets of our “made-in-His-image-ness” that sin has marred, so our love (while retaining some aspects of the image of His love) is polluted and distorted at best. but He’s redeeming that part of us, too! more and more into the image of Christ! :] but in this particular excerpt, maybe watson was driving more at what c.s. lewis called our sin of being “far too easily pleased” and “half-hearted creatures.”

    and yea, it’s snowing! enjoy it while it lasts. on january 4, it’ll be gone, wordpress says. happy new year!

  3. Jessica Says:

    Hi Tia,

    This is Jessica … I just commented on your other post on “Christopher and Mary Love.” Thomas Vincent’s book “True Christian’s Love to the Unseen Christ” is actually a very special book to me, because it was also the very first Puritan book I have ever purchased. šŸ™‚ When I was first introduced to the Puritans, I felt slightly intimidated about reading them because, being a simpleton myself, I wasn’t sure if I could understand them due to their old style of English language. I noticed that some of my favorite authors quoted the Puritans often, so I became intrigued. How did you first become introduced to Thomas Vincent or Puritan writings?

    • tia Says:

      Hi Jessica! Thanks for stopping by. :] I was introduced to Puritan writings much in the same way — my favorite authors often quoted them. I also love hymns, so that was a little intro in that era as well. I’d love to read any books you recommend sometime, too!

  4. Jessica Says:

    Hi Tia! That’s neat how you were introduced to Puritan writings in the same way. I really like Jeremiah Burroughs’ The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment, John Owen’s The Mortification of Sin, and Thomas Watson’s writing because he’s such a picturesque author. I quite like the “prince of preachers” Charles Spurgeon also! He has such a way and gift with words. I have his five double volume set of sermons, and I always walk away feeling encouraged when I read his sermons. And I think Spurgeon has a wonderful sense of humor! I thank God for faithful preachers and authors that He gives as means to encourage and teach. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

