Edges of the gospel.

January 9, 2010

Today, 12 years ago, I prayed in my journal for the first time.  I think that’s the first time I began to grasp the edges of the gospel.

Today, we started biblical Hebrew lessons.  We learned the basic structure of the language, the alphabet, and some language idiosyncracies.  We broke down Genesis 1:1!!  Something about learning and deciphering a new language makes me geek out.  Maybe because learning a language also means learning a people, a culture, a worldview.  What a joy it would be to learn a completely new language someday among a people who have never heard the name of Jesus and tell them that the Creator God sent His Son to reconcile sinners to Himself from the ends of the earth.  What a joy would it be to bring the Word of God to them.  To see Him worshiped in their tongue.  Maybe I won’t be the one to go, though I’m praying it might be.

At the moment when I put the bread and wine into those dark hands, once stained with the blood of cannibalism, but now stretched out to receive and partake the emblems of the Redeemer’s love, I had a foretaste of the joy of Glory that well nigh broke my heart to pieces.  I shall never taste a deeper bliss till I gaze on the glorified face of Jesus Himself.
(John G. Paton)

Meanwhile (a blessed “meanwhile,” I should add) I’m still here.  Among loved ones and strangers who don’t know Him.  And loving, truthful gospel proclamation begins here.  Acts 20:24 isn’t a place; it must be all of life.

Leave a Reply

