Afraid? Never and yes.

January 28, 2010

I just started reading The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.  There’s something particularly delightful about children’s stories that capture truths with such poignant simplicity:

“Rat!” he found breath to whisper, shaking. “Are you afraid?”

“Afraid?” murmured the Rat, his eyes shining with unutterable love. “Afraid!  Of Him?  O, never, never!  And yet–and yet–O, Mole, I am afraid!”

Then the two animals, crouching to the earth, bowed their heads and did worship.

(p. 156)

Love, love it.  (Forgive me for this abuse of the word love … English gives me no degrees of expression for it.)

:]

4 Responses to “Afraid? Never and yes.”

  1. dennarr Says:

    Hmmmm – this is the second time in two days I have seen this same quote. I just may need to pick this up! Have fun!

  2. keziahkim Says:

    i love love you, letitia! excited to see you soon ❤

  3. letitia Says:

    dennis: really? the same quote? this is the article that inspired me to pick it up … http://www.boundless.org/2005/articles/a0002221.cfm and if you click on the title in my post, it’ll take you to the google book!

    kezpez: one weeeeek!! 😀

  4. Stephen Says:

    Or to paraphrase Lucy and the Beavers re: Aslan…”I said he’s a GOOD lion…I never said he was SAFE.”


Leave a Reply

