Chesed.

February 13, 2010

One of the sweetest definitions of God’s chesed love I’ve yet heard:

The consistent, ever faithful, relentless, constantly pursuing, lavish, extravagant, unrestrained, furious love of our Father God.

Two thoughts came to mind when I heard this today.  The first, that I’m absolutely undeserving of this kind of love.  As a woman, and a sinful one at that, I naturally desire to be loved for my loveliness (not that I am but that I want to be considered so).  The love I crave as a sinner is often a wanton craving for others to love and admire me preeminently. But even with this craving, I know what I am apart from Christ.  I know who I am, save by grace.  And I know that such an extravagant, faithful love does not befit such a fallen creature.  It’s absolutely mind-blowing.  I’m not worthy to be the recipient of that kind of love!  Even the depths of my pride can’t cause me to think that I’m worthy of the faithful, relentless pursuit of the God I spurned and willfully sinned against.

So then my second thought was, “If this love isn’t about me or because of me, then who?  And why?”  And I was overwhelmed.  This is our God.  This speaks to the character of God, the person of God as revealed in Scripture and in the person of Jesus Christ.  This love has nothing to do with me and everything to do with the heart and character of God.  Why would He love me so well and so persistently?  He’s holy, and I’m vile in my sin; how is it even possible that such love can be extended from a holy God to a vile sinner?  Definitely not because of my worth or value or loveliness as a creature.  Not because of me.  And this — this speaks to His goodness, an unsearchable goodness that intertwines with all His other attributes as God, His love included.

I don’t get it.  And even when I see His glory someday and look into His face, I still don’t think I’ll get it.  I could be wrong, but I think I’ll just be all the more confused.  “This God, this Glorious One, loving me with such magnitude and relentlessness and violent force?”  It’s unthinkable.  I almost want to ask, “How dare I believe the God of the universe could love me so?”

But there it is.  He tells us Himself.

In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent His only Son into the world, so that we might live through Him.  In this is love, not that we have loved God but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.
(I John 4:9-11)

I admit, I often limit my highest notions of love to the love between a man and a woman.  But on days like today, I’m reminded that even though such love is commendable and even rightly desirable, at best it’s just a picture (like a preschooler’s play-dough rendition of La Pietà) of this crazy love of God, this “consistent, ever faithful, relentless, constantly pursuing, lavish, extravagant, unrestrained, furious love of our Father God.”

Leave a Reply

