I love my dad.

March 1, 2010

My dad turned 50 today … well, kind of (he’s a leap year baby).  I love him.

When I was little, whenever my brother and his friends teased me, I’d bear it as long as I could.  But when their taunts began to cut through my armor, I ran to my dad and cried to him.  He’d hug me, wipe my tears away, and reverse all the mean things they said.

Back then, I’m sure my little woes must have seemed very small to him at times, especially in comparison to the cares he shouldered.  But he never belittled or brushed away my troubles — great or small (sometimes, very small).

For 25 years, he’s been my dad.  And in so lovingly receiving me whenever I was hurting, he taught me to trust God the Father in my moments of sorrow (and joy).  Sometime since childhood, I had to learn to take my cares first to my heavenly Father, but because of the kind of earthly dad God gave me, that transition was much easier than it could have otherwise been.

I’m so thankful.

5 Responses to “I love my dad.”

  1. cathiehong Says:

    :] happy birthday to your papa. i miss our quarterly meet-ups too.

  2. Tia Says:

    :]]] and ❤

  3. courtney Says:

    I’m thankful for all the love your dad showed you…i can see how you show it to those in your life.

  4. Tia Says:

    court, if an earthly dad’s imperfect love could influence one so much, how much more the perfect love of a heavenly Father, huh? :]

  5. jennlee Says:


Leave a Reply

