Blessings like cotton candy.

April 27, 2010

The brain’s feeling pretty depleted, so I feel like being frivolous and writing a frivolous post.  God has given some deep blessings lately, but He hasn’t left the shallower pools empty either.  Some blessings are transient and the enjoyment melts quickly, but they’re traces of His kindness nonetheless.

Just three, though I could add more:

1. Milne’s Original Pooh Treasury.

I picked up the whole series at the Recycle Bookstore near my house a few weeks ago, and they’re the perfect “read aloud” kind of stories.  Milne’s humor is 3 things: ridiculous, cute, and clever.  My cousin Leslie slept over a couple weeks ago, and we took turns reading some of the stories to each other.  Leslie’s 15, and I’m 25; but we laughed like we were 5.  “Tut-tut, it looks like rain.”  Silly bear.  Gifted writer.

2. Anticipating good books on their way in the mail.

I’ve read about Adoniram Judson before, but I don’t know much about his wife, Ann.  Solution: Sharon James’ My Heart in His Hands: Ann Judson of Burma is on its way!

3. My parents using lingo like they’re teenagers.

My dad writes “cool” like “kewl,” and my mom says things like “TMI” and “chill pill.”  I def did not teach my dad to write like that, but I did teach my mom “TMI” and “chill pill.”  She told me she used “chill pill” on my brother recently — so funny.  We’re currently working on “peace out.”

… Told you this was a frivolous post.  :]  Peace out.

4 Responses to “Blessings like cotton candy.”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Haha! I saw when your dad said keel the other day, I did a doubletake and then giggled. I would love to seeyou mom tell Jon to take a chill pill, hillarious!!!!!

    Oh yeah, Winnie The Pooh is the best (andso is that bookstore!)

  2. cathie hong Says:

    haha, i like these frivolous posts! your mom is the funniest!

  3. keziahkim Says:

    i just finished My Heart in His Hands and I cannot tell you how many times i was brought to tears! i LOVED it! im sure you’ll enjoy it :)))

  4. tia Says:

    haha, these comments made me laugh and smile.

    i’ll refrain from writing any more though, because my brain still feels about as deep as a bird bath right now (one more paper tonight and i’ll be sane again). :]

    hug, hug, and hug.


Leave a Reply

