Jesus, thank You.

May 12, 2010

The thought that keeps coming to mind lately is, “What would we do if the gospel weren’t true?”  I suppose it’s akin to asking, “What would we do without breath — the air, the mechanisms given to breathe with, and the knowledge to breathe?”  Definitely the breath analogy falls fathoms short of the gospel; give me a lifetime without breath than an eternity without the gospel!  But He gives it all — the gospel, the ears to hear and hearts to receive, and the Spirit-aided understanding to walk in this newness of life.

The gospel ruins me more now than it did the first time I grasped it.  The more my sin haunts me, and the more my thoughts torture me on that account, the more I find the gospel haunting and persecuting me.  Corrie ten Boom once said, “There is no pit so deep but Christ is deeper still.”  If I can borrow her wording, there is no sin so pervading, no indwelling sin so deep, but the gospel of the grace of God is more pervading and deeper still.

Right when I sigh with relief and think the depths of my heart have finally been uncovered and exhausted, the Spirit reveals more sin, more destruction, more death, more murder.  It scares me, grieves me, tortures me.  My conscience and thoughts continually scream condemnation, but blessed, blessed truth: His blood speaks a better word on my behalf.  Mercy.

The gospel is sweeter and brighter every day.  The gospel is no impotent message.  The gospel is the power of God … and it’s still changing me.  And the more I find I am forgiven, the more I find I love.  He is a complete Savior.

The mystery of the cross I cannot comprehend
The agonies of Calvary
You the perfect Holy One, crushed Your Son
Who drank the bitter cup reserved for me

Your blood has washed away my sin
Jesus, thank You

The Father’s wrath completely satisfied
Jesus, thank You

Once Your enemy, now seated at Your table
Jesus, thank You

By Your perfect sacrifice I’ve been brought near
Your enemy You’ve made Your friend
Pouring out the riches of Your glorious grace
Your mercy and Your kindness know no end

Lover of my soul
I want to live for You

(Jesus Thank You by Pat Sczebel, Sovereign Grace Music)

There is really nothing more foul than sin and nothing more beautiful than the Christ of the gospel.

2 Responses to “Jesus, thank You.”

  1. Cassie Says:

    There’s not much more to say to that than, “Amen!!”

  2. tia Says:

    furreals yo :]


Leave a Reply

