I beated you.

June 11, 2010

Yesterday, we went to a restaurant after my “little” cousin Nathan’s high school graduation.  I walked into the restaurant restroom, and at the same time, a little girl hurried into the restroom, too.  She was about 6 years old with rosy, rosy cheeks and wore bright red little-girl heels with her skirt.  She was such a cute little chubby girl, and her heels clack-clacked as she seemed in a big hurry to get in.

When I came out of the stall, she kept watching me from the corner of her eye as she washed her hands.  I smiled at her.  She still didn’t look at me.  Then she quickly tore off a piece of paper towel, and as I started to wash my hands, she looked at me square in the eyes (through the mirror) and calmly stated, “I beated you.”

I was a little confused and found her matter-of-fact tone so cute and funny that all I could do was laugh and ask, “Huh?”

“I beated you,” she repeated.  Then before I could say anything,  she yanked the restroom door open, started jumping up and down really hard, and loudly announced to her mom (and the rest of the restaurant, I might add), “I BEATED HER!  I BEATED HER!”

HAHAHA.

Why are kids so random cute fun/ny?  Who knew getting in and out of the restroom was a race?  Maybe I need me some bright red heels, too.  ;]

8 Responses to “I beated you.”

  1. Ruth Ann Says:

    I’d love to see you wearing some bright red heels 🙂

  2. tia Says:

    haha, ruth ann … they ain’t m’colo’ ;]

  3. michael chung Says:

    tia! i’ve recently started following ur blog and it reminds me of how open and beautiful ur sharing can be! excited to see how you’re continuing to grow

  4. tia Says:

    mike! someday, an outreach reunion is in order. i miss y’all. since i have no means of knowing how you’re doing/growing except through the sillinesses of facebook, (a) get a blog, (b) shoot me an email, or (c) both. :]

  5. Ramsin Says:

    Is it sad that I still do stuff like that? haha.

    Hi TIA! How is life? I haven’t talked to you lately. =(

  6. tia Says:

    ramsin: not sad at all! life is … never boring. sometimes i wish it’d let up so i could rest, but i think a forced day of rest is forthcoming. :] hope you’re doing well!

  7. Ramsin Says:

    you should let up and rest! a good way to rest is to come visit san diego! puahaha (fiendish laugh!)

    i am doing well! i’m actually writing from quebec right now. we’re on a mini family vacation. it’s fun but scary knowing i’ll go back to mounds of work to catch up on! =)

  8. tia Says:

    have a fun time with your fam!


Leave a Reply

