Hallelujah.

November 22, 2010

Lately, whenever I try to listen to music, my thoughts quickly drown it out, and the music fades into ambience.  But songs with hallelujah stop me in my tracks.  They beckon me back to reality, and something in my soul rises in spite of myself, as if answering a call — a call with enough authority to still every other competing thought and emotion.  In that moment, wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, the single thought of the majesty of God is overwhelming, and I’m reminded I was created for one thing: worship.

Through tears of grief, Hallelujah. Through gurgles of joy, Hallelujah. Through the stillness, Hallelujah. More than mouth-deep, Hallelujah.

Because He’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

