But God is the strength of my heart.

February 23, 2011

My flesh and my heart may fail,

Flesh and heart.  Is there anything left of me beyond flesh and heart?  These may fail.  My strength, my thoughts, my threshold for pain, my resolve, my love, my clutch on His promises — all of me may fail.  And it does.  Often.

but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

I fail, I grow feeble, but God — never.  He never grows weak or weary.  And He doesn’t just promise to give me strength.  He doesn’t just promise to give me my portion.  He promises to be my Strength.  He promises to be my Portion.  And He will never fail, because when He says forever, He means it.

3 Responses to “But God is the strength of my heart.”

  1. David Says:

    Yes we fail Him & fall short in so many ways and so many times
    Yes our thoughts and dreams and hopes and fears are changeable & passing
    Yes our bodies will one day fail
    BUT
    What does John say in I John 3:1-2?
    “Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew Him not. Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when He shall appear, we shall be like Him; for we shall see Him as He is.”

    It is not just God Who is for ever; one day WE shall be with Him, in glory & for His glory, FOR EVER too … holy and unblameable and unreproveable in His sight for all eternity. What mercy & grace to give us that prospect, while we plod on below; or rather, what a loving Father & gracious Saviour!

    Take heart & look forward!


Leave a Reply

