Snapshot two.

July 1, 2011

(Snapshot one was written some time ago.  Wrote this one shortly after but never posted it.  Thought I’d post it today. ♥)

When I picture our childhood home, I see our carpeted stairway with the wooden banister, the wisteria that hung from the white pergola my dad built in the backyard, and the white latticed sliding doors that separated our family room from our living room.

But especially those white latticed sliding doors.

When everyone else was in the family room, talking or watching TV, I’d often peek in from behind the sliding doors and just watch for a moment before joining them.  Or if my mom was on the phone in the family room, I’d often eavesdrop from that hiding spot and report back to my brother.  We were always particularly interested to know if we’d be meeting Eddie and Jamie’s family again for dinner.  If that’s what I heard her say, I’d quietly give a whoop, sprint up the stairs, and gasp out the news to my brother.  Those doors were also my favorite hide-and-seek spot.  As they opened, they kind of folded out, and each side formed a little nook perfect for hiding.

One afternoon, I heard my mom on the phone in the family room.  Things had been tense at home for a couple days because of a disagreement between my parents, and my brother and I were rather nervous.  So I listened from the “nook,” breathing as softly as I could so I could hear her.  When I confirmed she was on the phone with my dad, I held my breath.

Then I heard her laugh.  I raised my eyebrows with surprise.

And then she said, “I love you!”

I gave a little jump for joy.  And I wiped away tears of relief and joy.  My parents loved each other.  All was well.

I ran up the stairs to tell my brother the good news. My short legs couldn’t carry me fast enough.

2 Responses to “Snapshot two.”

  1. Aileen Says:

    your heart is so precious tia. ❤ HUG. bahaha 🙂

  2. tia Says:

    i love ai! (if i just said that out loud without writing it out, i’d sound really narcissist … haha)


Leave a Reply

