Love’s first sight.

July 28, 2011

Her Father: I love you.

Her: But … I don’t see it anywhere in my life.

Her Father: Oh?

(Pointing) Child, what do you see there?

Her: The cross.

Her Father: Whose cross, child?

Her: Your Son’s cross, Father.

Her Father: Yes.  Go there, child.  Sit, consider, and don’t hasten to leave.

Her: But why?  I don’t understand.

Her Father: Dear child, if you don’t see My love there first, you won’t see it anywhere else.

3 Responses to “Love’s first sight.”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Reminds me of what He has been teaching me this week even through my own unexpected trials (and car breakdown!)…”turning burdens into praise” as a song I just heard recently put it…

    • tia Says:

      aww lisa, car breakdown does not sound good at all 😦
      but i really like that pat little band song, if that’s the one you’re referring to! :]

      this post actually came out of a conversation i had with one of my little cousins. i realized she couldn’t really see God’s love in her life until she grasped His love on the cross. she couldn’t get past feeling His frown until she saw His frown on His Son who stood in her stead.

      and as i thought about it, the same is still true for me. i can’t fathom His lovingkindness — His smile, even — if i forget the lovingkindness demonstrated toward me on the cross. that He isn’t frowning on me anymore because He frowned on His Son, smiling on me with the same love and warmth toward His perfect Son.

      craziness.


  2. This is one of my most favorite-ist posts.


Leave a Reply

