A week’s heap of thankfuls.

September 29, 2011

Finding again lately that the difference between complaint and praise lies in the condition of my heart, not my circumstances.  The humble in Christ are ever grateful; the proud in self are ever griping.

So, it’s time for another gratitude post — this time, in photos and captions:


Folded warm laundry with my mom at my grandparents’ home (see the dark heap?).  My grandma sent me home with backyard-grown cucumbers, my grandpa sent me home with a new repertoire of “advanced” Korean vocabulary … which I already forgot.  Hehe.

Spent an evening with Aunt Connie and Angel (fluffy pup).  After craving Fuji apples all week, she cut some up for me (my aunt, I mean, not Angel).  Sweet, crisp, totally hit the spot.


Watched half of Ratatouille with two of the “little” cousins.  Realized Leslie is a junior in high school (where did the time go?), watched Alisa draw pictures for me, heard again about how being my flower girl in 4 months is a “dream come true” for her, and learned Indian folk dance with Leslie in the evening.  (She joined the Indian Dance Club at school this year, and they were hosting a folk dance night.)


Took a last trip to Santa Cruz with Jess before the cooler weather sets in.  Ate crepes, stopped by Seabright Beach to dip our toes in the sand and water, and wrote a not-so-cryptic message in the sand.  And at the end of the day, nothing like driving over a dark mountain pass back to a well-lit, cozy apartment with three sisters in Christ.

I don’t have photos for texts with my brother, dinner with my dad, conversations with friends, worship with a new church family, and the stream of communication that happens with a fiance who simultaneously makes me love both him and Christ more every day … but I’m grateful for those things, too.  Blessings when they are enjoyed by a heart ensnared by Christ alone.

Oh rebel heart of mine, don’t forget His kindnesses.  ♥

4 Responses to “A week’s heap of thankfuls.”

  1. Aileen Says:

    now johne needs to go to the beach and write back to you. 🙂 Alisa is tooo funny!

  2. tia Says:

    haha ai, that’ll be a long trip for a short message.

    and we’ll have to take lots of pictures for alisa on her dream-come-true day! ;]]

  3. Claire Says:

    “the stream of communication that happens with a fiance who simultaneously makes me love both him and Christ more every day”

    what a great thing, something I’ll definitely be praying for!

  4. tia Says:

    :] it is a great thing, claire. bitter when i worship the creation rather than the Creator, but sweet when man is in his right place in my heart and God is worshiped. love you girl. hope you are doing well ❤


Leave a Reply

