6 months as Mrs.

July 21, 2012

6 thoughts as we celebrate our first half-year mark of marriage:

6. We think I’ve picked up more of his mannerisms than he has mine.  Maybe it’s because I was the youngest in my fam and he was the middle child?  In any case, I’ve begun to do things like say, “Hai-yah, hai-yah,” while karate-chopping things like his arm, examine foreign places and objects by sniffing them, and laugh at things I never found funny before.  I hope I don’t lose all my friends — haha.

5. Marriage is not the finish line.  A groom’s smile at the end of the wedding aisle is not the finish line.  Seeing God’s smile during and at the end of our lives is the finish line.  (And what a sweet Smile that will be.) :]

4. Me love him!

3. It would be unkind and untrue for me to say, “It’s so much better on this side,” as if that’s a truth for all people at all times.  Has it been a blessing to me?  Absolutely.  Would I rather return to my single days?  Absolutely not!  But I think we can borrow the principle from 1 Corinthians here: Only let each person lead the life that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him.  There’s so much joy in this, and He never errs in His calling.

2. What binds us as Mr. & Mrs. isn’t the “ball and chain” of an enslaving “commitment” made some time ago.  It’s the golden chain of marital love, fastened by a covenant sustained by a faithful, faith-giving God.  It’s a beautiful thing.

1. Marriage is so much better than I thought it would be.  I was dead-scared going into it.  But in this we find security: our hope on both our best days and worst days rests on Him, not us.

(Fist pump)

One Response to “6 months as Mrs.”

  1. Ted Y Says:

    FIST PUMPPP


Leave a Reply

