“Women and Work.”

November 28, 2012

Totally appreciated this article today — “Women and Work” by Carolyn McCulley.  Extremely timely.  Nuggets of wisdom to keep and look over through the years.  Here are some excerpts that I’ll be mulling over in the months to come:

[O]ur modern concept of “career” is largely a self-centered one. It’s ultimately about self-fulfillment and self-definition — how you are defined by what you do … Pursuing your identity in a job is not the same thing as cultivating your skills or professional networks in order to be more productive and demonstrate excellence in your work. In fact, I believe you can do your work much better if your identity is not bound up in your job. When you know that your primary identity is as an object of mercy who is now an adopted child of the Father and a co-heir with Christ, neither the triumphs nor the setbacks of your vocation can shake you.

Should women work? Absolutely! Women should work and work hard every day. As Christ-following women, the Bible calls us to work for God’s glory. But the location of where we work is neither the definition nor the measure of our productivity.

We hand each other a lot of “shoulds” about whether it’s better to work outside of the home or not when you have children, but few people talk about sequencing across the full spectrum of an adult woman’s life — planning for the early years of fertility and the later years of second-chapter wisdom and influence. There may be a number of things God has given you to multiply throughout your life, but not all can or need to be done at the same time. What’s most important now in light of eternity? Give yourself to that cause and plan ahead for the next season.

You may have read this far expecting me to tell you concrete things to do. I’m sorry, but I can’t do that. Your life is unique, and the Lord is guiding you to do all the good works He has planned in advance for you to do (Ephesians 2:10). Therefore your life will not look the same as anyone else in your circle of friends, family or church. There may be many similarities, but it won’t be cookie-cutter-similar.

One Response to ““Women and Work.””

  1. Cassie Tenny Says:

    This is good. I took Calvin with me to work today and it was exhausting! I usually get to work from home, mostly, which is better since I can do it when he naps. I often wonder if I “should” be working at all outside the home. The money certainly helps, but I know God would take care of us without it. The good thing is that it doesn’t take away much time from being with my kid, which I believe at this point in my life is my number one call. =)


Leave a Reply

