Day 2: Describe 3 legitimate fears you have and explain how they became fears.

February 9, 2014

Part of the 30 day challenge series

Dear Ian,

Your umma‘s got a lot of fears.  Your grandma used to call me a worry wart.  Even my elementary school teacher expressed concern about my excessive worries.  Fear brings out some of the worst in me — fretfulness, cowardice, control and forcefulness.  God is constantly reminding me not to fear, to put away my devices, to stop leaning on my own understanding, and to trust Him.  Because He’s trustworthy!

Not all fear is bad, but most fears are not good.  Test all your fears against Scripture, Ian.  See if God says the same thing about your fears that your thoughts do.  Most of the time, you will find that a faithful, robust understanding of God’s sovereignty and perfect love will drive out fear.

With that said, here are three of my greatest fears:

3. Unfaithfulness in marriage.  I can’t really elaborate here, but just know that this says nothing about your appa.  They say that people fear the most when the likelihood of “it” happening to them feels high.  And the likelihood often feels higher when it has already happened to those near and dear to them.  That’s why I fear this.

2. Something happening to my loved ones, whether in threat to their safety or happiness.

1. I’m terrified for loved ones who continue to reject Christ.  Sometimes to the point where my anticipation of Christ’s return is overshadowed by a grieving dread.  Because some of those whom I love dearly aren’t ready for His return.  Ian, my heart, God forbid that ever be you.

“Then I saw a great white throne and Him who was seated on it. From His presence earth and sky fled away, and no place was found for them.  And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened.  Then another book was opened, which is the book of life.  And the dead were judged by what was written in the books, according to what they had done.  And the sea gave up the dead who were in it, Death and Hades gave up the dead who were in them, and they were judged, each one of them, according to what they had done.  Then Death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. This is the second death, the lake of fire.  And if anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire.” (Revelation 20:11-15)

In Christ alone, Who took on flesh,
Fullness of God in helpless babe!
This gift of love and righteousness,
Scorned by the ones He came to save.
Till on that cross as Jesus died,
The wrath of God was satisfied;
For ev’ry sin on Him was laid—
Here in the death of Christ I live.
(“In Christ Alone,” Keith Getty and Stuart Townend)

Leave a Reply

